Frequently Asked Questions

1What is a medical device? !!Link im Text ergänzen
Since 14 June 1998, the CE marking is mandatory for any medical device. To be entitled to label your product with the CE marking, you have to ensure conformity of your product with the directive 93/42/EEC (Medical Device Directive). This means that your product has to conform to the basic requirements specified by this directive. This includes technical documentation of the product. To view the contents required by the directive, simply visit our download center.

The exact steps for CE marking depend on the type of medical device, its classification. Explaining the different versions would be going too far at this point. Just call us and we will be happy to answer your questions.
2How do I get the CE marking for my medical device? !!Link im Text ergänzen
This directive is applicable to active implantable medical devices. Thus, this directive covers any active medical device which is intended to be totally or partially introduced, surgically or medically, into the human body or by medical intervention into a natural orifice, and which is intended to remain after the procedure.

These devices may be placed on the market and put into service only if they do not compromise the safety and health of the patient, the users, or, where applicable, third persons when properly implanted, maintained, and used in accordance with their intended purposes.

To read the full version of the directive, click here.
3Does Metecon support companies with obtaining the CE marking for medical devices?
Risk analysis is one of the first steps when developing a medical device. With one or several FMEAs (failure mode and effect analysis), the risks of the medical device are analyzed and evaluated. However, FMEA merely constitutes one part of the risk management process according to EN ISO 14971.

We support you with every aspect of risk management throughout the life cycle of your medical device, e. g. by preparing and executing the FMEA, by providing the risk management report, and by implementing technical solutions to minimize the risks in terms of integrated safety.

Just contact us! We look forward to getting to know you!
4May I obtain CE marking for a product if it’s already been readily developed?
On 21 March 2010, the transition period for DIN EN ISO 62366 (Application of usability engineering to medical devices) expired. According to 60601-1-6, originally only applicable to medical electrical equipment, this standard is now mandatory for all medical devices. This means that when developing a medical device, a usability engineering process needs to be installed and documented in a usability engineering file.

The usability assessment has by now become an integral part of medical device development. Together with our partners in this field we offer optimized solutions for implementing the usability process in your product development.
5Does Metecon conduct clinical trials? !!Link im Text ergänzen
According to Section 19 (1) of the Act on Medical Devices, “evidence of the suitability of medical devices for the specified intended purpose shall be provided through a clinical evaluation based on clinical data [...]. The clinical evaluation [...] must be based on

data from scientific literature which cover the intended use of the medical device and the techniques involved in its use, as well as a written report containing a critical evaluation of these data, or
the results of all performance evaluation studies or other appropriate tests.”

It must be observed, however, that 1 only applies to the development of comparable medical devices and that all innovative products, therefore, require clinical investigation (as under 2) which implies that technical documentation according to MPKPV is essential.

Section 20 of the Act on Medical Devices defines the prerequisites for clinical investigations of medical devices; Annex X to the Directive 93/42/EEC provides a clearer definition of clinical evaluation.

We will be happy to support you with the clinical evaluation of your product. Just contact us and together we will find the solution that best fits you and your product.
6What are Metecon’s competencies?
In the scope of quality assurance, medical device manufacturers have to proof integrated and comprehensive fault management. In particular deviations that have been recorded but not tracked completely and corrected with adequate measures are in the focus of audits and inspections.

CAPA is a quality management concept and was adopted from the US FDA by the new EU GMP guideline. The focus of CAPA is on the systematic assessment of discrepancies (e. g. failure and/or deviation) and the attempt to prevent repetitive occurrence (corrective action) or to prevent occurrence a priori (preventive action).

Metecon supports you in the successful implementation of the CAPA concept so that your documentation fully meets the expectations of authorities and notified bodies. Just call us – we look forward to getting to know you!
7Does Metecon specialize in a certain area of medical engineering?
A new medical device has to overcome the obstacles of regulatory approval before it may be launched on the market. To apply for this approval, the results of technical inspections, laboratory tests, simulations, etc. need to be submitted in writing. To standardize the format of these applications worldwide, the Global Harmonization Task Force (GHTF) developed the Summary Technical Documentation (STED).

A STED summarizes the development process of a medical device. It proves how the manufacturer assesses and rates the medical device’s quality, effectiveness, safety, and clinical benefit. Furthermore, it explains to what extent the product conforms to an accepted and/or published standard.

A STED should include the following six main chapters:

1. Device Description:
Description of the product, the intended use, the exterior and interior structure, classification according to the definitions of the Act on Medical Devices,

2. Labelling:
List of required labelling (pictograms according to DIN EN ISO 980) associated with the device itself, the instructions for use, and promotional material,

3. Design and Manufacturing Information:
Overview of the device’s individual manufacturing stages,

4. Essential Principles Checklist:
List of essential principles that offers evidence of the device’s conformity,

5. Risk Analysis and Control Summary:
Overview of the risks identified during the risk analysis process and how these risks have been controlled,

6. Product Verification and Validation:
Overview of the device’s verification and validation as well as of materials used for its manufacture.
8Is Metecon certified?
Yes, we are ISO 13485 and ISO 9001 certified. The certificates are available for your reference and download in pdf format in our download center.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

1Was ist ein Medizinprodukt? !!Link im Text ergänzen
Seit dem 14. Juni 1998 ist die Anbringung der CE-Kennzeichnung auf jedem Medizinprodukt Pflicht. Um das CE-Kennzeichen an Ihrem Produkt anbringen zu dürfen, müssen Sie die Konformität Ihres Produkts mit der Richtlinie 93/42/EWG (Medizinprodukte-Richtlinie) sicherstellen. Das heisst, Ihr Produkt muss den grundlegenden Anforderungen dieser Richtlinie entsprechen. Dafür muss eine Technische Dokumentation für das Produkt erstellt werden. Die in der Richtlinie geforderten Inhalte können Sie sich bequem in unserem Download-Center herunterladen.

Die genauen Schritte für die CE-Kennzeichnung hängen von der Art des Medizinprodukts, seiner Klassifizierung, ab. Die verschiedenen Varianten zu erläutern würde an dieser Stelle zu weit führen. Rufen Sie uns an, und wir beantworten Ihre Fragen gerne in einem persönlichen Gespräch.
2Wie erhalte ich die CE-Kennzeichnung für mein Medizinprodukt? !!Link im Text ergänzen
Diese Richtlinie gilt für aktive implantierbare medizinische Geräte. Somit unterliegt jedes aktive medizinische Gerät dem Geltungsbereich dieser Richtlinie, das dafür ausgelegt ist, ganz oder teilweise durch einen chirurgischen oder medizinischen Eingriff in den menschlichen Körper oder durch einen medizinischen Eingriff in eine natürliche Körperöffnung eingeführt zu werden, und dazu bestimmt ist, nach dem Eingriff dort zu verbleiben.

Diese Geräte dürfen nur in den Verkehr gebracht und in Betrieb genommen werden, wenn sie die Sicherheit und die Gesundheit der Patienten, der Anwender und gegebenenfalls Dritter bei sachgemäßer Implantation, Instandhaltung und ihrer Zweckbestimmung entsprechender Verwendung nicht gefährden.

Die vollständige Richtlinie können Sie hier nachlesen.
3Unterstützt Metecon Unternehmen bei der CE-Kennzeichnung von Medizinprodukten?
Die Risikoanalyse ist einer der ersten Schritte bei der Entwicklung eines Medizinprodukts. Dabei werden mit einer oder mehreren FMEA (Fehler-Möglichkeits- und Einflussanalyse) die Risiken des Medizinprodukts analysiert und bewertet. Die FMEA selbst ist aber nur ein Teil des Risikomanagement-Prozesses nach EN ISO 14971.

Wir unterstützen Sie beim gesamten Risikomanagement über die Lebensdauer Ihres Medizinprodukts, z. B. durch Vorbereitung und Durchführung der FMEA, der Erstellung des Risikomanagementberichts und der Umsetzung technischer Lösungen zur Minimierung der Risiken im Sinne der integrierten Sicherheit.

Sprechen Sie uns an. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie kennenzulernen.
4Kann ich die CE-Kennzeichnung für ein Produkt erhalten, wenn es schon fertig entwickelt ist?
Seit 21. März 2010 ist die Übergangsfrist für die DIN EN ISO 62366 (Anwendung der Gebrauchstauglichkeit auf Medizinprodukte) abgelaufen. Ursprünglich in der 60601-1-6 nur für medizinische elektrische Geräte geltend ist die Anwendung der Norm jetzt für alle Medizinprodukte Pflicht. Das bedeutet, dass im Zuge der Entwicklung des Medizinprodukts ein Usability Engineering Process durchgeführt und in einem Usability File, d. h. in einer Gebrauchstauglichkeitsakte, dokumentiert werden muss.

Die Betrachtung der Usability ist mittlerweile zu einem wesentlichen Bestandteil der Medizinproduktentwicklung geworden. Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern in diesem Bereich bieten wir Ihnen optimierte Lösungen für die Implementierung des Usability-Prozesses in Ihre Produktentwicklung.
5Führt Metecon klinische Studien durch? !!Link im Text ergänzen
Nach § 19 (1) MPG ist „Die Eignung von Medizinprodukten für den vorgesehenen Verwendungszweck [...] durch eine Klinische Bewertung anhand von klinischen Daten zu belegen [...]. Die Klinische Bewertung [...] ist zu stützen auf

Daten aus der wissenschaftlichen Literatur, die die vorgesehene Anwendung des Medizinproduktes und die dabei zum Einsatz kommenden Techniken behandeln, sowie einen schriftlichen Bericht, der eine kritische Würdigung dieser Daten enthält, oder
die Ergebnisse aller klinischen Prüfungen.“

Dabei gilt zu beachten, dass Punkt 1 nur für die Entwicklung vergleichbarer Medizinprodukte gilt, für alle innovativen Produkte jedoch die klinische Prüfung (unter 2.) notwendig, und hierfür die Technische Dokumentation gemäß MPKPV unabdingbar ist.

In § 20 des Medizinproduktgesetzes sind die Voraussetzungen zur klinischen Prüfung von Medizinprodukten geregelt; im Anhang X der Richtlinie 93/42/EWG wird die Klinische Bewertung klarer definiert.

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Klinischen Bewertung Ihres Produktes. Kontaktieren Sie uns, damit wir in einem persönlichen Gespräch die für Sie beste Lösung finden.
6Welche Kompetenzen hat Metecon?
Im Rahmen der Qualitätssicherung müssen Hersteller von Medizinprodukten ein integriertes und umfassendes Fehlermanagement nachweisen. Insbesondere zwar erfasste, aber nicht vollständig verfolgte und mit adäquaten Maßnahmen korrigierte Abweichungen stehen bei Audits und Inspektionen im Mittelpunkt.

CAPA ist ein Konzept aus dem Qualitätsmanagement und wurde aus der US-FDA in die neue EU GMP Leitlinie übernommen. Der Fokus von CAPA liegt auf der systematischen Untersuchung von Diskrepanzen (z.B. Ausfall und/oder Abweichungen) und dem Versuch, das wiederholte Auftreten zu verhindern (corrective action) oder das Auftreten bereits im Vorfeld zu verhindern (preventive action).

Metecon unterstützt Sie bei der erfolgreichen Implementierung des CAPA-Konzepts, damit Ihre Dokumentation den Erwartungen von Behörden und Benannten Stellen voll entspricht. Rufen Sie uns an - wir freuen uns darauf Sie kennenzulernen!
7Ist Metecon auf einen bestimmten Bereich der Medizintechnik spezialisiert?
Ein neues Medizinprodukt muss die Hürden der regulativen Zulassung meistern, bevor es auf den Markt gebracht werden kann. Um diese Zulassung zu beantragen, müssen Ergebnisse von Technischen Prüfungen, Labortests, Simulationen etc. schriftlich eingereicht werden. Um diese Anträge weltweit in ein standardisiertes Format zu bringen, hat die Global Harmonization Task Force (GHTF) die Summary Technical Documentation (STED) entwickelt.

Eine STED fasst den Ablauf der Entwicklung eines Medizinprodukts zusammen. Sie belegt, wie der Hersteller Qualität, Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit und klinischen Nutzen des Medizinprodukts beurteilt und bewertet. Außerdem erklärt sie, inwieweit das Produkt mit einem anerkannten bzw. einem veröffentlichten Standard konform geht.

Folgende sechs Oberkapitel sollte eine STED umfassen:

1. Produktbeschreibung (Device Description):
Beschreibung des Produkts, des Verwendungszwecks, des äußeren und inneren Aufbaus; Klassifizierung nach den Vorgaben des Medizinproduktegesetzes (MPG),

2. Kennzeichnung (Labelling):
Auflistung der nötigen Kennzeichnungen des Produkts (Piktogramme nach DIN EN ISO 980) auf dem Gerät selbst, der Gebrauchsanweisung und auf Werbematerial,
3. Produktspezifikation (Design and Manufacturing Information):
Übersicht über die einzelnen Herstellungsstufen des Produkts,

4. Grundlegende Anforderungen (Essential Principles Checklist):
Liste der grundlegenden Anforderungen, aus der die Konformität des Produkts hervorgeht,

5. Risikomanagement (Risk Analysis and Control Summary):
Überblick über die im Rahmen der Risikoanalyse ermittelten Gefährdungen sowie über die Maßnahmen, mit denen das Risiko verringert wurde,
6. Produktprüfung (Product Verification and Validation):
Überblick über Verifizierung und Validierung des Produkts sowie der zu seiner Herstellung eingesetzten Materialien.
8Ist Metecon zertifiziert?
Ja, wir sind nach ISO 13485 und ISO 9001 zertifiziert. Die Zertifikate können Sie sich als PDF im Download-Center ansehen und herunterladen.