Software now under the scope of the IVDR

With the addition of the term “software” in the definition of in vitro diagnostic medical device (IVDR 2017/746, Article 2 - Definitions, 2.), software is now included in the scope of the IVDR and thus finally receives the attention it deserves:

“‘in vitro diagnostic medical device’ means any medical device which is a reagent, reagent product, calibrator, control material, kit, instrument, apparatus, piece of equipment, software or system, whether used alone or in combination, intended by the manufacturer to be used in vitro for the examination of specimens, including blood and tissue donations, derived from the human body, solely or principally for the purpose of providing information on one or more of the following [...]”

The term medical device software covers numerous devices that are applied in a therapeutic or diagnostic context; against the background of digitization in health care, their importance is increasing significantly. Primarily it refers to software IN medical devices, also referred to as embedded software, but also to software AS a medical device, so-called stand-alone software.

Manufacturers of medical devices and in vitro diagnostic medical devices are faced with the challenge to develop cost-efficient products of high quality that comply with the regulations. Both IVDR and MDR require manufacturers to ensure their devices’ safety and the expectations of software documentation are also high. Especially small and medium-sized businesses often experience a lack of resources and insufficient knowledge of general regulatory requirements.

As your holistic service provider we guide you through all stages of your devices’ software life cycle – competent and reliable.

... and what does “holistic” mean?

"Medical device software is software that is intended to be used, alone or in combination, for a purpose as specified in the definition of a "medical device" in the medical devices regulation or in vitro diagnostic medical devices regulation."
Source: MDCG, "Guidance on Qualification and Classification of Software in Regulation (EU) 2017/745 – MDR and Regulation (EU) 2017/746 – IVDR", 2019.

Contact us

Software: Product life cycle

Lebenszyklus: Software in der Medizintechnik @ Lebenszyklus: Software in der Medizintechnik

Please click for an explanation of the figure:

+1 - Intended use
Intended use of the IVD medical device
+2 - Classification (software safety classification)
Software classification based on the risks associated with the software considering measures of risk governance implemented outside the software with a focus on expectable damage.
+3 - Requirements analysis
Systematically deriving the software requirements from the system requirements. For stand-alone software, the software requirements are identical to the system requirements.
+4 - Architecture
Organizational structure of a system or a component (EN 62034).
+5 - Detailed design
Detailed continuation of the system architecture to a specific solution for implementation.
+6 - Verification
Confirmation, through provision of objective evidence, that specified requirements have been fulfilled. (EN 62304).
+7 - Validation
Confirmation, through the provision of objective evidence, that the requirements for a specific intended use or application have been fulfilled (EN 82304-1).

Regulatory requirements of medical software

Safety requirements

Safety: Protection against device malfunctions due to software failures,

Security: Protection of the software against hacker attacks and attacks from outside,

Privacy: Compliance with the requirements in terms of data privacy.
Contact us

The regulatory requirements are derived from the in vitro diagnostic regulation (IVDR). The general safety and performance requirements in Annex I, Chapter 2 define that a software life cycle must be established; it is adequately reflected in EN 62304.

However, IEC 62304 does not provide answers to all questions. For example, it does not regulate the validation of a device or the electrical safety of devices with embedded software. In addition, other standards such as EN 61010, EN 62366 or IEC 82304 must be observed.

The next obstacle: Although the standards mentioned above reflect the current state of the art, not all of them are necessarily harmonized, neither with the IVDD and certainly not with the IVDR. It is therefore always recommended to consult with your notified body before applying non-harmonized standards.

Software may be an individual medical device enabling diagnostic decisions. It may, however, also be part of a whole, for example as firmware in almost any complex medical device. And also complex production processes are virtually impossible without software today.

We love challenges. How may we support you?

We are happy to support you in the following topics:

Software may be an individual medical device enabling medical decisions.


Stand-alone software

Software may also be part of a whole, for example as firmware in almost any complex medical device.


Embedded software

Complex production processes seem impossible without software today. How may we support you?


IT in production

Fit for the future with the Metecon Academy

Each of our workshops and in-house courses provides sustainable knowledge and know-how in the areas of technical documentation, regulatory affairs and QM and is always exactly tailored to your needs.

Our customers use our workshops with our experts:
to keep themselves and their team up to date with the latest knowledge and/or to go into intensive exchange with us and gain clarity in the face of a current challenge about a specific description of objectives and the project strategy.

Through the operation of our own trainee academy, our comprehensive training material is always up to date.

Let us find out together what your team needs!












Workshop topics:

  • Implementation of IVDR for technical documentation and QM
  • Risk management
  • Usability
  • Biological safety
  • Clinical affairs
  • Software
  • Approval
  • Quality management

Ihre Nachricht an uns

Software jetzt im Fokus unter IVDR

Schon in der IVDD werden die Anforderungen an Software erwähnt, allerdings vage und eingeschränkt auf Trisomie 21. Die Suche nach dem Begriff verdeutlicht die Relevanz von Software heute: Erzielt man hierfür in der IVDD lediglich vier Treffer, sind es in der IVDR jetzt 50. Unter der IVDR bekommt Software somit endlich die Bedeutung, die ihr schon lange zusteht:
"In-vitro-Diagnostikum" bezeichnet ein Medizinprodukt, das als Reagenz, Reagenzprodukt, Kalibrator, Kontrollmaterial, Kit, Instrument, Apparat, Gerät, Software oder System — einzeln oder in Verbindung miteinander — vom Hersteller zur In-vitro-Untersuchung von aus dem menschlichen Körper stammenden Proben, einschließlich Blut- und Gewebespenden, bestimmt ist und ausschließlich oder hauptsächlich dazu dient, Informationen zu einem oder mehreren der folgenden Punkte zu liefern [...]"

Der Begriff Medical Device Software umfasst zahlreiche Produkte, die im therapeutischen oder diagnostischen Kontext eingesetzt werden und deren Bedeutung vor dem Hintergrund der Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens stark zunimmt. Vorrangig sind damit zum einen Software IM Medizinprodukt, auch embedded Software genannt, und zum anderen Software ALS Medizinprodukt, sogenannte stand-alone Software, gemeint.

Hersteller von Medizinprodukten und In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVD) stehen vor der Herausforderung, kostengünstige Produkte in hoher Qualität gesetzeskonform zu entwickeln. Sowohl IVDR als auch MDR verpflichten Sie als Hersteller dazu, die Sicherheit Ihrer Produkte zu gewährleisten, und die Anforderungen an die Dokumentation von Software sind hoch. Gerade bei kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen fehlt es aber meist an Ressourcen und ausreichender Kenntnis der regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen.

Als Ihr ganzheitlicher Dienstleister begleiten wir Sie kompetent und sicher durch alle Phasen des Softwarelebenszyklus Ihrer Produkte.

Definition: Medical Device Software

"Medical device software is software that is intended to be used, alone or in combination, for a purpose as specified in the definition of a "medical device" in the medical devices regulation or in vitro diagnostic medical devices regulation."

Quelle: MDCG, "Guidance on Qualification and Classification of Software in Regulation (EU) 2017/745 – MDR and Regulation (EU) 2017/746 – IVDR", 2019.
Kontaktanfrage

Software: Produktlebenszyklus

Lebenszyklus: Software in der Medizintechnik @ Lebenszyklus: Software in der Medizintechnik

Zur Erläuterung der Grafik bitte klicken:

+1 - Zweckbestimmung
Zweckbestimmung des IVD-Produkts.
+2 - Klassifizierung (Software-Sicherheitsklassifizierung)
Klassifizierung der Software auf der Grundlage der mit der Software assoziierten Risiken unter Berücksichtigung der außerhalb der Software ergriffenen Risikobeherrschungsmaßnahmen mit Fokus auf dem erwartbaren Schaden.
+3 - Anforderungserhebung
Systematisches Ableiten der Softwareanforderungen aus den Systemanforderungen. Bei stand-alone Software sind die Softwareanforderungen die Systemanforderungen.
+4 - Architektur
Organisationsstruktur eines Systems oder einer Komponente (EN 62304).
+5 - Detailed Design
Detaillierte Weiterführung der Architektur des Systems hin zu konkreten Lösungen für die Implementierung.
+6 - Verifikation
Bestätigung durch Bereitstellen eines objektiven Nachweises, dass die festgelegten Anforderungen erfüllt wurden (EN 62304).
+7 - Validierung
Bestätigung durch Bereitstellung eines objektiven Nachweises, dass Anforderungen für einen spezifischen beabsichtigten Gebrauch oder eine spezifische beabsichtigte Verwendung erfüllt wurden (EN 82304-1, 3.23).

Regulatorische Anforderungen an IVD-Software

Anforderungen an die Sicherheit

Safety: Schutz vor Gerätefehlfunktionen aufgrund von Softwarefehlern,

Security: Schutz der Software vor Hackerangriffen und Attacken von außen,

Privacy: Einhaltung der Anforderungen in Bezug auf den Datenschutz.
Kontaktanfrage

Die regulatorischen Anforderungen leiten sich aus der In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR) ab. Aus den Grundlegenden Sicherheits- und Leistungsanforderungen in Anhang I, Kapitel 2 geht hervor, dass ein Softwarelebenszyklus etabliert werden muss; er wird hinreichend in der EN 62304 abgebildet.

Allerdings gibt die IEC 62304 nicht Antwort auf alle Fragen. So regelt sie bspw. nicht die Validierung eines Produkts und auch nicht die elektrische Sicherheit bei Produkten mit embedded Software. Dazu gilt es, weitere Normen zu beachten, wie die EN 61010 oder auch die EN 62366 bzw. IEC 82304.

Die nächste Hürde: Die genannten Normen spiegeln zwar den aktuellen Stand der Technik wider, aber nicht alle sind unbedingt harmonisiert, weder mit der IVDD und schon gar nicht mit der IVDR. Es ist daher immer ratsam, vor der Verwendung von nicht-harmonisierten Normen Rücksprache mit Ihrer Benannten Stelle zu halten.

Software kann ein eigenständiges Medizinprodukt sein, welches diagnostische Entscheidungen ermöglicht. Sie kann jedoch auch Teil eines Ganzen sein, wie bspw. als Firmware in fast jedem komplexeren Medizinprodukt. Und auch aus komplexeren Produktionsprozessen ist Software heute nicht mehr wegzudenken.

Wir lieben Herausforderungen. Wie können wir Sie unterstützen?

Themen, in denen wir zuhause sind:

Software kann ein eigenständiges Medizinprodukt sein, das medizinische Entscheidungen ermöglicht.

Software kann auch Teil eines Ganzen sein, wie bspw. als Firmware in fast jedem komplexeren Medizinprodukt.


Embedded Software

Fit für die Zukunft mit der Metecon-Akademie

Jeder unserer Workshops vermittelt nachhaltig Wissen und Know-how in den Bereichen Technische Dokumentation, Regulatory Affairs und QM und ist immer passgenau auf Ihre Bedürfnisse abgestimmt.

Unsere Kunden nutzen unsere Workshops mit unseren Experten:
  • um sich und ihr Team auf den neuesten Wissensstand zu bringen und/oder
  • um sich angesichts einer aktuellen Herausforderung im intensiven Austausch mit uns über die konkrete Zielbeschreibung und Projektstrategie Klarheit zu verschaffen.
Durch den Betrieb unserer eigenen Trainee-Akademie verfügen wir aktuell über ca. 1.500 stets aktuelle PPT-Schulungsfolien zu allen regulatorischen Themen. Das kommt Ihnen zugute: Lassen Sie keine wertvolle Zeit verrinnen! Wir identifizieren sofort Ihren passenden Spezialisten, sind immer vorbereitet und setzen Ihren Workshop um, wenn er gebraucht wird: jetzt.

Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam herausfinden, was Ihr Team braucht!




Workshop-Themen

  • Umsetzung MDR bzw. IVDR für Technische Dokumentation (Bestandsprodukte) und QM
  • Risikomanagement
  • Usability
  • Biologische Sicherheit
  • Clinical Affairs
  • Software
  • Qualitätsmanagement

Ihre Nachricht an uns