Usability in the development process

Ergonomics and usability in medical engineering are important aspects for patient safety, for the efficient application of medical devices, as well as for satisfied medical device users. As a manufacturer of medical devices, you are responsible for all necessary activities relating to usability in accordance with IEC 62366-1 for all medical devices and with IEC 60601-1-6 for medical electrical equipment.

As many incidents with medical devices result from a lack of usability, their user interfaces must fulfill special requirements.

The process for the usability of medical devices described in IEC 62366-1 is therefore closely linked to the risk management process and specifies the requirements of the analysis, specification, development, as well as verification and validation of usability. Our usability team knows all of these requirements and supports you in developing the required usability file and its integration into your development process.

Metecon is a member of the committee “DKE/UK 811.4 ergonomics, usability, instruction manual” concerning the standards 60601-1-6, IEC 62366-1, and IEC 62366-2. For developing the required usability file and integration into your development process we are your competent partner. Put us to the test!

'Suitable for use':
How much it takes until a product meets this
requirement!
contact us

Usability studies

Our tip

In practice, we recommend to check whether the activities for examining the usability might be combined with the PMS activities of Clinical Affairs.

In usability studies, also called summative evaluation, real users interact with one or more models of medical devices, with prototypes or samples of ready manufactured medical devices to assess the learning conduciveness, simplicity of use, efficiency, memory conduciveness and/or attractiveness for the user.

Usability studies may be conducted in a laboratory environment, in a simulated environment, or in the real environment of the intended use. In particular when conducted as field studies, they are able to reveal user errors. However, as the number of test persons is rather small, failures with a low probability of occurrence cannot be detected. Therefore, the application of additional techniques, such as risk analysis, is essential.

Together with our partners we support your planning and design of your usability study. We filter the requirements for your usability study from the technical documentation and in turn integrate the results into the technical documentation. Just contact us to discuss your needs initially without any obligation!

Usability engineering file

The usability engineering process covers the entire product development and significantly supports your development engineers. The results are documented in the usability engineering file, which you as the distributor need to provide to document the usability of your medical device.

The analysis phase analyzes and documents the requirements of the different user groups and usage environments. The results are adopted into the product requirements and are therefore available to the developer. Continuous tests and inspections of usability at different development stages (formative evaluation) of the product examine whether the development process is targeted. This avoids expensive loops in the development process, which is important not only but especially for software developments. The validation stage examines and verifies whether the requirements in terms of usability are met.

For existing products that are already in the market, the process is different: In most cases, instead of conducting a validation study, incidents and failures of the device and comparable competitive devices may be analyzed and this analysis may then serve as proof of fulfilling usability requirements. The usability engineering file, however, follows the same outline and structure as in case of a new development.

For legacy systems put into service before IEC 62366-1 took effect, we develop the usability engineering file at a fixed price, provided that all required documents are available.

Our usability team has all the required experience to support you efficiently in the development-related process; furthermore, we work with relevant partners for planning and conducting the study.
contact us

Our services all around your usability engineering file

  • Developing the usability engineering file,
  • Aligning the content with the risk management file,
  • Organizing and involving usability experts for conducting customer surveys and validation studies,
  • Training and consulting how to implement the requirements of IEC 62366-1 in practice.

Usability im Entwicklungsprozess

Ergonomie und Gebrauchstauglichkeit in der Medizintechnik sind ein wichtiger Baustein für die Patientensicherheit, die Effizienz beim Einsatz der Medizinprodukte sowie die Zufriedenheit der Anwender von Medizinprodukten. Als Medizinproduktehersteller sind Sie hier für die notwendigen Aktivitäten im Zusammenhang mit der Gebrauchstauglichkeit nach der IEC 62366-1 für alle Medizinprodukte und der IEC 60601-1-6 für medizinische elektrische Geräte verantwortlich.

Da viele Vorkommnisse mit Medizinprodukten auf eine mangelnde Gebrauchstauglichkeit zurückzuführen sind, müssen spezielle Anforderungen an ihre Benutzerschnittstellen gestellt werden.

Der in der IEC 62366-1 beschriebene Prozess für die Gebrauchstauglichkeit von Medizinprodukten ist daher eng mit dem Risikomanagement-Prozess verzahnt und zeigt die Anforderungen an Analyse, Spezifikation, Entwicklung sowie Verifikation und Validierung der Gebrauchstauglichkeit auf. Unser Usability-Team kennt alle diese Anforderungen und unterstützt Sie bei der Erstellung der erforderlichen Gebrauchstauglichkeitsakte und deren Integration in Ihren Entwicklungsprozess.

Metecon ist Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe „DKE/UK 811.4 Ergonomie, Gebrauchstauglichkeit, Gebrauchsanweisung“ hinsichtlich der Normen 60601-1-6, IEC 62366-1 und IEC 62366-2. Für die Erstellung der erforderlichen Gebrauchstauglichkeitsakte und die Integration in Ihren Entwicklungsprozess sind wir Ihr kompetenter Partner. Stellen Sie uns auf die Probe!


'Tauglich für den Gebrauch': Wie viel es braucht, bis ein Produkt dieser Anforderung gerecht wird!

Usability-Studien

Unser Tipp

In der Praxis empfiehlt es sich zu prüfen, ob die Aktivitäten zur Untersuchung der Gebrauchstauglichkeit eventuell mit den PMS-Aktivitäten von Clinical Affairs verknüpft werden können.

Bei Usability-Studien, auch Summative Evaluation genannt, interagieren wirkliche Benutzer mit einem oder mehreren Modellen von Medizinprodukten, mit Prototypen oder Mustern bereits hergestellter Medizinprodukte, um die Lernförderlichkeit, Einfachheit des Gebrauchs, die Effizienz, die Erinnerungsförderlichkeit und/oder die Attraktivität auf den Benutzer zu beurteilen.

Usability-Studien können in einer Laborumgebung, in einer simulierten Umgebung oder in der wirklichen Umgebung des Bestimmungsgemäßen Gebrauchs durchgeführt werden. Besonders wenn sie im Feld durchgeführt werden, können sie Benutzerfehler aufdecken. Weil aber die Anzahl der Probanden klein ist, können Fehler mit geringer Auftretenswahrscheinlichkeit nicht entdeckt werden. Deshalb ist die Anwendung zusätzlicher Techniken, wie der Risikoanalyse, wesentlich.

Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern unterstützen wir Sie bei der Planung und Projektierung Ihrer Usability-Studie. Aus Ihrer Technischen Dokumentation filtern wir die Anforderungen an Ihre Usability-Studie und lassen die Ergebnisse wiederum in die Technische Dokumentation einfließen. Kontaktieren Sie uns zu einem unverbindlichen Erstgespräch!

Usability Engineerung File

Der Prozess des Usability Engineerings begleitet Ihre gesamte Produktentwicklung und unterstützt Ihre Entwicklungsingenieure maßgeblich. Die Ergebnisse werden festgehalten im Usability Engineering File, der Gebrauchstauglichkeits-Akte, in der Sie als Inverkehrbringer die Gebrauchstauglichkeit Ihres Medizinprodukts dokumentieren müssen.

In der Analysephase werden die Anforderungen der verschiedenen Nutzergruppen und Nutzungsumgebungen analysiert und dokumentiert. Die Ergebnisse werden in die Produktanforderungen übernommen und so dem Entwickler zur Verfügung gestellt. Durch fortlaufende Tests und Untersuchungen der Usability zu verschiedenen Entwicklungsständen (formative Evaluation) des Produkts wird untersucht, ob die Entwicklung zielorientiert verläuft. So werden teure Schleifen in der Entwicklung vermieden, was nicht nur, aber vor allem bei Softwareentwicklungen wichtig ist. In der Validierungsphase wird untersucht und nachgewiesen, ob die Anforderungen an die Gebrauchstauglichkeit erfüllt werden.

Für bestehende, sich bereits am Markt befindliche Produkte sieht der Prozess anders aus: Hier kann in den meisten Fällen anstelle einer Validierungsstudie eine Analyse der Vorkommnisse und Fehler des Produkts und vergleichbarer Wettbewerbsprodukte vorgenommen und diese Auswertung als Nachweis der Erfüllung der Gebrauchstauglichkeit benutzt werden. Die Gebrauchstauglichkeits-Akte selbst ist in diesem Fall aber genauso aufgebaut und strukturiert wie bei einer Neuentwicklung.

Für Altgeräte (legacy system), die vor Einführung der IEC 62366-1 in Betrieb genommen wurden, erstellen wir, sofern alle notwendigen Dokumente vorhanden sind, die Gebrauchstauglichkeits-Akte gegen Festpreis.


Unser Usability-Team verfügt über die notwendige Erfahrung, um Sie beim entwicklungsbegleitenden Prozess effizient zu unterstützen; zudem haben wir die passenden Partner für die Studienplanung und -durchführung.

Unsere Leistungen rund um Ihre Gebrauchstauglichkeits-Akte

  • Erstellen der Gebrauchstauglichkeits-Akte,
  • Abstimmung der Inhalte mit der Risikomanagement-Akte,
  • Organisation und Einbindung von Usability-Experten für die Durchführung von Kundenbefragungen und Validierungsstudien,
  • Schulung und Beratung zur praktischen Umsetzung der Anforderungen der IEC 62366-1.