Market observation of medical devices using Post-Market Surveillance (PMS/PMCF)

As a medical device manufacturer, you are required to actively monitor the market and develop defined Post-Market Surveillance (PMS) strategies for each product or product family. This enables you to identify and address underestimated complications and issues that were not apparent prior to launch, as well as unforeseen uses of your product throughout the product lifecycle.

Post-market surveillance activities can include: handling complaints; vigilance; interviewing patients, users, distributors and transporters; evaluating feedback from the hotline, social media forums to app store reviews; researching surveillance agency databases on incidents and recalls on similar products in the market; and product-specific Post-Market Clinical Follow-up (PMCF) activities. In this context, any activity that is not incident-related counts as active.

Through a jointly developed strategy, you can efficiently incorporate this data into your clinical evaluation and save a lot of time and high personnel costs during the (annual) update.

Definition of Post-Market Surveillance (PMS)

Post-Market Surveillance (PMS) refers to a systematic process by the manufacturer for post-market surveillance. How and why PMS is needed is explained in Chapter 7 "Post-market surveillance, vigilance and market surveillance" of the MDR (EU Regulation 2017/745). ISO 13485:2016 and ISO 14971:2022 also require post-market surveillance.

Save your Time and Money with Smart Updates

Adapting a clinical evaluation from MDD to MDR usually involves lot of efforts. Once a good MDR-compliant foundation has been created and the associated PMCF measures have been optimally defined, the updates can be created much faster and thus more cost-effectively.

Our Offer:

We take full care of your clinical evaluation. We also remind you when an update is due, collect the relevant information and carry out the update.

Your Advantages:

The forthcoming updates run via the PMCF measures that we have previously defined in a smart and efficient manner as part of your clinical evaluation. We keep your effort as low as possible and you always get your clinical evaluation from one source.

Let's find out together and without obligation how we can optimize your clinical evaluation and your post-market surveillance. We are happy to hear from you!

PMS and its importance for your medical devices

The importance of PMS for your medical devices can be viewed from different perspectives:
  • Post-market surveillance is part of the quality management (particularly risk management) of medical devices in Europe.
  • It is used to monitor the safety and performance of medical devices after they have been placed on the market.
  • Information on the use of medical devices is collected and analyzed in order to identify risks or problems in the market at an early stage and to initiate measures.
  • Post-market surveillance helps protect patients and users and helps to ensure that medical devices remain safe and effective.

Your PMS requirements - our solutions

Our team will work with you to develop your PMS strategy that meets your requirements and create all the basic documents such as the PMS process, PMS plans and reporting templates.

Use our quick check to find out exactly what you need and how we can support you!

Post-Market Surveillance (PMS) for Medical Devices under the MDR.


Post-market surveillance (PMS) is now required under both MDR and IVDR. You probably already have hands-on experience with the challenges PMS under MDR or IVDR presents. You may already be familiar with one of the scenarios:
  • Market surveillance requires more resources than expected.
  • Your team is not yet fit enough to deal with the challenges that the two regulations pose to them.
  • There were minor or major nonconformities in your last audit.

We want to be part of the solution to your PMS challenges! Check out our Quick Check to see what options we have for you!

Market surveillance, market monitoring and vigilance under the IVDR?

For your IVDs you will find all information and solutions for post-market surveillance here.

Quick check

How you can profit from our PMS expertise


In our experience, PMS challenges you in six different ways. Assign yourself to a profile and see what solution we can offer you. We look forward to hearing from you!

1. Kick Start

You need a reliable PMS foundation and a well-thought-out strategy.

Are you aware of PMS requirements and are at the beginning of your PMS implementation? Or do you want to start with basics and need PMS strategies for implementation? No problem, we can help you get started!

Our approach:
We don't turn your business upside down. Our goal is to develop a regulatory compliant and implementable strategy for your company. In order to be on the same wavelength, we need to get to know you and your product portfolio and record the current situation. In a collaborative workshop, we will create an individual draft strategy for you. Finally, we ( together ) implement your PMS with the developed strategy and measure its effectiveness.
We get you safely to the finish line - Learn more now!

2. Fast Lane

You need to accelerate

Help, fast! You have a deviation in your PMS and now need a helping hand to quickly bring you back into compliance. Together, we'll get everything back on track!

Our approach:
When you need to act fast, experience matters! Our experts know how to resolve a non-conformance in a timely manner. We are aware that you are under pressure and that the clock is ticking. Together, we will quickly find the optimal solution to resolve your non-conformance. With us, you have a reliable partner at your side for difficult times.
We are ready for your pit stop!

3. Power, Power, Power!

You are a tuning fan

You have an established PMS system, but you lack the power to complete all tasks properly and on time? Our team is here for you!

Our approach:
With too few resources, even the best PMS system cannot function properly. We provide you with the capacity you need at such times and help you meet all the requirements. Thanks to our years of practice, we quickly learn the business and reliably complete the tasks at hand.

Looking for reinforcement for your race team? We look forward to getting to know you!

4. Saving Energy

You are committed to efficient processes

You need too much internal capacity (personnel, time, financial) with your established PMS system. We help you to make your processes more efficient.

Our approach:
For us, saving energy is more than just using software. We know that it is challenging to optimize resources while being as energy efficient as possible. We work with you as an objective partners to look at your PMS processes to improve your energy efficiency while complying with MDR regulations. Even small changes lead to big savings over time!
Save your engine with our support!

5. Driver´s License

Your team needs a PMS update

You have internal capacities which need to be trained accordingly. No problem, our trainers are happy to share their expertise with you.

Our approach:
Within the framework of the Metecon Academy, we offer you customized training for the entire team. Together with you, we get an overview of the current know-how. Our trainers are not only experts in their field - we also care about your success! At the end of our workshops, we work together on a trial run on one of your products to ensure the effectiveness of the training content in practice.
We will gladly provide you with further information!

The product is in the market, the clinical evaluation has already been completed?

No, because as a manufacturer you must be prepared to guarantee the safety and performance of your product over the entire product life cycle.To determine suitable Post Market Clinical Follow-Up (PMCF) activities in the context of Post-Market Surveillance (PMS), there are various ways, such as the evaluation of specific questions with a large number of patients, long-term observations of patients or research on known risks from the literature. Based on this data, you can identify any problems with your product, eliminate them at an early stage, and thus continually adapt your follow-up products to meet the needs of their users.

Post-Market Clinical Follow-Up (PMCF)

Possible PMCF measures include research in scientific literature and in encounter databases, as well as surveys of patients and users of the product. Post-Market Clinical Follow-Up (PMCF) studies are so-called market surveillance studies conducted for medical devices with a legal CE mark. The medical device must be used within its intended purpose, and the study design must not include additional procedures that are either invasive or stressful. The purpose of these studies is to generate further clinical data to be included in the clinical evaluation report. Since ISO 14155 makes no distinction between medical devices with and without CE marking, this standard applies equally to all studies/clinical trials.

We bring structure to your internal processes of market monitoring and show you ways to efficiently incorporate this data into the Clinical Evaluation, gladly with our support. If the results show that you need to conduct a PMCF study, we plan this study efficiently and ensure that it runs smoothly. In particular, we are happy to assist you with the preparation of the PSUR or PMS report - we know that these are often challenging for manufacturers.Want to learn more?
Our initial consultations are of-course free of charge!

MDR: product lifecycle reporting

The MDR defines new responsibilities for you as a medical device manufacturer such as a regular preparation of plans and reports. Some updates follow a fixed schedule, others need to be integrated in this cycle reasonably.

The figure shows the plans and reports in a logical sequence. This makes it easier to identify interdependencies. The collection of clinical data must be planned already during product development. After approval you are in a continuous process of preparing plans and reports throughout the entire product lifecycle.

To comply with all requirements and be able to provide all documents in a timely manner, the individual stages need to be aligned carefully.
[CR #494746] @ MDR:  Product Life Cycle Reporting[/CR]

Explanation of the stages

+1 - CDP - Clinical Development Plan
At the beginning of the development process, the clinical development plan defines how you will collect sufficient clinical data for later clinical evaluation. This may include exploratory investigations, first-in-man studies, feasibility and pilot studies, to confirmatory investigations; an outlook for possible PMCF activities is also possible at this stage.
+2 - CEP - Clinical Evaluation Plan
Prior to conducting the clinical evaluation, the clinical evaluation plan defines the scope of the clinical evidence. Available pre- and clinical data, remaining residual risks, newly identified risks (from PMS/PMCF/complaints) as well as all other claims (also from marketing) are considered. Afterwards, clinically relevant questions as well as open questions from risk management are derived. Finally, the search strategy is defined (sources, search terms, selection and evaluation criteria) that is to be applied for the clinical evaluation.
+3 - CER - Clinical Evaluation Report
The clinical evaluation report represents the results of the clinical evaluation. At this stage, clinical data is collected, selected, evaluated, and analyzed from the device or devices for which it has been demonstrated that they are equivalent to the device. It is checked whether the device meets the requirements for safety, performance, undesired side effects and the benefit-risk ratio defined by the MDR. Furthermore, currently available alternative treatment options also have to be taken into consideration. Finally, the need for further clinical data is discussed (PMCF activities) and passed on to PMS.
+4 - PMS Plan / PMCF Plan
In the PMS plan the manufacturer defines how the device will be monitored after the market launch and which data is to be collected. Product-specific planning of activities needs to take into account the findings from the clinical evaluation and the device’s risk potential. Furthermore, the methodologies for analyzing the data and the criteria for the analysis are defined. The manufacturer is responsible for collecting the data on the market proactively.

Post-market clinical follow-up (PMCF) is part of PMS. PMCF is to close the gaps that could not be answered in the scope of the clinical evaluation (e.g. long-term behavior, monitoring of side effects and contra indications). The PMCF plan describes methodologies and procedures for the proactive collection and evaluation of clinical data. The extent may vary considerably depending on the PMCF activities. Therefore, a PMCF master plan may well be established at this point that refers to different PMCF plans defining the individual activities.
+5 - SSCP - Summary of Safety and Clinical Performance
An SSCP report must be prepared only by manufacturers of class III and implantable devices. The report is referenced in the user manual or the label and is made publicly available via EUDAMED. The report must be written in such manner as to be comprehensible for laypersons. The purpose of the short report is to introduce the device in the context of its application and explain alternative therapeutic or diagnostic options as well as residual risks and undesirable effects. Prior to publication, the report is validated by the notified body, which will then upload the report to EUDAMED. Content and format of the representation may be defined by the commission.
+6 - Proactive PMS: Vigilance Report, PMCF Report, Trends
The proactive PMS phase is where you conduct your PMCF activities and collect and evaluate market data. The strategies you defined in the PMS plan have to ensure that reportable events such as vigilance cases and trends may be identified and reported in a timely manner.

Vigilance: Describes the reporting of serious incidents and field safety corrective actions to the authority. For this purpose, every manufacturer needs an appropriate system in which it is ensured that the evaluation and analysis of such events is enabled and that the deadlines for reporting them may be adhered to. Reporting is carried out via EUDAMED.

PMCF: The results of PMCF activities are documented and analyzed in one or several PMCF reports. The extent of analysis may vary considerably depending on the PMCF activity. The conclusions of the PMCF report must be taken into account for the PSUR/PMS report and furthermore for the clinical evaluation and risk management.

Trends: Statistically significant increases in the frequency or severity of non-serious incidents or expected undesirable side effects must be reported to the responsible authority provided they affect the benefit-risk ratio. By comparing your observations to the expectations from risk analysis, you will arrive at a conclusion whether an increase is significant. The PMS plan must define a methodology how to identify trends reliably. In addition, the observation period has to be defined.
+7 - PMS Report / PSUR
A PMS Report is created for class I devices and includes a summary of the results from market data collected over the last observation period. Based on these results, a conclusion is derived that is passed on to clinical evaluation. Furthermore, corrective and preventive actions are defined and explained. The purpose of the PMS report is to gain insights into the behavior of the device on the market across the entire product life cycle. These may then be used for further product development as well as for ensuring the device’s safety. That way it may be ensured that the device complies with the requirements of the regulation at any time.

A PSUR is prepared for class IIa, IIb, and III products. Like the PMS report, it includes a summary of the results from market data collected over the last observation period. Based on these results, a conclusion is derived that is passed on to clinical evaluation. Furthermore, corrective and preventive actions are defined and explained.
In addition to the topics of the PMS report, the PSUR also includes the conclusions from the benefit-risk assessment, the most important results from PMCF, and the total number of units sold as well as other information on frequencies, e.g. on application.
The purpose of the PSUR is to gain insights into the behavior of the device across the entire product life cycle. These may then be used for further product development as well as for ensuring the device’s safety. That way it may be ensured that the device complies with the requirements of the regulation at any time.

Our services in detail

Support and consulting services on post-market surveillance (PMS), e.g. by planning proactive market observation and developing PMS processes.

Creating reports required under the MDR:
  • CDP - Clinical Development Plan
  • CEP - Clinical Evaluation Plan
  • CER - Clinical Evaluation Report
  • PMS Plan/PMCF Plan
  • SSCP - Summary of Safety and Clinical Performance: for class III and implantable devices
  • Vigilance Report, PMCF Report, Trends (Proactive Post-Market Surveillance)
  • PMS Report and Periodic Safety Update Report (PSUR) for all class IIa devices or higher.

Metecon is your established and thorough partner for planning, conducting and evaluating all of these reports.

Marktbeobachtung von Medizinprodukten mittels Post-Market Surveillance (PMS/PMCF)

Als Hersteller von Medizinprodukten sind Sie aufgefordert, aktive Marktbeobachtung zu betreiben und definierte Post-Market Surveillance (PMS)-Strategien für jedes Produkt bzw. jede Produktfamilie zu erarbeiten. Das versetzt Sie in die Lage, unterschätzte Komplikationen und Probleme, die vor der Markteinführung nicht zu erkennen waren, sowie unvorhergesehenen Gebrauch Ihres Produkts über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus zu erkennen und zu beheben.

Zu den Aktivitäten für die Post-Market Surveillance können zählen: die Bearbeitung von Reklamationen; Vigilanz; die Befragung von Patienten, Anwendern, Händlern und Transporteuren; die Auswertung von Rückmeldungen aus der Hotline, aus Social Media-Foren bis hin zu Bewertungen aus dem App-Store; Recherche in Datenbanken der Überwachungsbehörden zu Vorkommnissen und Rückrufen zu ähnlichen Produkten auf dem Markt sowie produktspezifische Post-Market Clinical Follow-up-Maßnahmen (PMCF-Maßnahmen). Dabei zählt jede Aktivität, die nicht anlassbezogen ist, als aktiv.

Durch eine gemeinsam erarbeitete Strategie können Sie diese Daten effizient in Ihre Klinische Bewertung einbringen und sparen so bei der (jährlichen) Aktualisierung viel Zeit und hohe Personalkosten.

Definition Post-Market Surveillance (PMS)

Post-Market Surveillance (PMS) bezeichnet einen systematischen Prozess des Herstellers für die Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen. Wie und wozu es PMS braucht, wird in Kapitel 7 "Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen, Vigilanz und Marktüberwachung" der MDR (EU-Verordnung 2017/745) erläutert. ISO 13485:2016 und ISO 14971:2022 fordern ebenfalls eine Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen.

Mit smarten Updates Zeit und Kosten sparen

Eine Klinische Bewertung von MDD auf MDR anzupassen, ist meist mit größerem Aufwand verbunden. Ist eine gute MDR-taugliche Grundlage geschaffen und sind die dazugehörigen PMCF-Maßnahmen optimal definiert, lassen sich die Updates deutlich schneller und damit kostengünstiger erstellen.

Unser Angebot:

Wir kümmern uns vollumfänglich um Ihre Klinische Bewertung. Dazu erinnern wir Sie auch daran, wann ein Update ansteht, holen die entsprechenden Informationen ein und führen das Update durch.

Ihre Vorteile:

Die bevorstehenden Updates laufen über die PMCF-Maßnahmen, die wir zuvor im Rahmen Ihrer Klinischen Bewertung schlau und effizient definiert haben. Wir halten Ihren Aufwand so gering wie möglich, und Sie bekommen Ihre Klinische Bewertung immer aus einer Hand.

Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam und unverbindlich herausfinden, wie wir Ihre Klinische Bewertung und Ihre Post-Market Surveillance optimieren können. Wir freuen uns, von Ihnen zu hören!

PMS und ihre Bedeutung für Ihre Medizinprodukte

Welche Bedeutung PMS für Ihre Medizinprodukte hat, lässt sich aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln betrachten:
  • Die Post-Market Surveillance ist Bestandteil des Qualitätsmanagements (inbes. des Risikomanagements) von Medizinprodukten in Europa.
  • Sie dient der Überwachung, der Sicherheit und der Leistung von Medizinprodukten nach ihrer Markteinführung.
  • Informationen über die Verwendung von Medizinprodukten werden gesammelt und analysiert, um Risiken oder Probleme im Feld frühzeitig zu erkennen und Maßnahmen einzuleiten.
  • Die Post-Market Surveillance trägt zum Schutz von Patienten und Anwendern bei und hilft dabei, dass Medizinprodukte sicher und wirksam bleiben.

Ihre Anforderungen an PMS – unsere Lösungen

Unser Team erarbeitet mit Ihnen Ihre PMS-Strategie, die Ihre Anforderungen erfüllt, und erstellt alle grundlegenden Dokumente wie den PMS-Prozess, die PMS-Pläne und die Berichtsvorlagen.

Profitieren Sie von unserem Quick-Check und finden Sie schnell heraus, welche Unterstützung Sie benötigen!

Was uns motiviert

Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen (PMS) für Medizinprodukte unter der MDR

Die Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen (Post-Market Surveillance, PMS) ist mittlerweile sowohl nach MDR als auch nach IVDR vorgeschrieben. Wahrscheinlich haben Sie bereits praktische Erfahrungen mit den Herausforderungen, die PMS nach MDR bzw. IVDR mit sich bringen. Vielleicht kennen Sie bereits eine der Szenarien:
  • Die Marktüberwachung erfordert mehr Ressourcen als erwartet.
  • Ihr Team ist noch nicht fit genug, um mit den Herausforderungen zurecht zu kommen, die die beiden Verordnungen an sie stellen.
  • Bei Ihrem letzten Audit gab es Neben- oder Hauptabweichungen.

Wir wollen Teil der Lösung für Ihre PMS-Herausforderungen sein. Finden Sie mit nachfolgenden Quick-Check schnell heraus, was Sie brauchen und wie wir Sie dabei unterstützen können!

Marktbeobachtung, Marktüberwachung und Vigilanz unter der IVDR?

Für Ihre IVDs finden Sie hier alle Informationen und Lösungen zur Post-Market Surveillance.

Quick-Check

So profitieren Sie von unserer PMS-Expertise

Unserer Erfahrung nach stellt PMS Sie auf fünf unterschiedliche Arten vor große Herausforderungen. Ordnen Sie sich einem Profil zu und sehen Sie, welche Lösung wir Ihnen anbieten. Wir freuen uns, von Ihnen zu hören!

1. Kick Start

Sie brauchen eine sichere PMS-Basis und eine durchdachte Strategie

Sie sind sich der Anforderungen an PMS bewusst und stehen am Anfang Ihrer PMS-Einführung? Oder wollen Sie mit Grundlagen starten und brauchen PMS-Strategien für die Implementierung? Kein Problem, wir helfen Ihnen loszulegen!

Unser Ansatz:
Wir stellen Ihr Unternehmen nicht auf den Kopf. Unser Ziel ist es, eine regulatorisch konforme und umsetzbare Strategie für Ihr Unternehmen zu entwickeln. Um auf der gleichen Wellenlänge zu sein, müssen wir Sie und Ihr Produktportfolio kennenlernen und die Ist-Situation aufnehmen. In einem gemeinsamen Workshop erstellen wir Ihnen einen individuellen Strategieentwurf. Zum Schluss führen wir (gemeinsam) Ihr PMS mit der ausgearbeiteten Strategie ein und messen ihre Wirksamkeit.
Wir bringen Sie sicher ins Ziel - Jetzt mehr erfahren!

2. Fast Lane

Sie müssen Gas geben

Hilfe, schnell! Sie haben eine Abweichung in Ihrem PMS und brauchen jetzt eine zupackende Hand, um schnell wieder die Konformität herzustellen. Gemeinsam bringen wir alles wieder auf Kurs!

Unser Ansatz:
Wenn Sie schnell handeln müssen, zählt Erfahrung! Unsere Expert*innen wissen, wie eine Nichtkonformität zeitnah zu beheben ist. Wir sind uns bewusst, dass Sie unter Druck stehen und dass die Uhr tickt. Gemeinsam finden wir zügig die optimale Lösung, um Ihre Abweichung zu beheben. Mit uns haben Sie einen zuverlässigen Partner für schwierige Zeiten an Ihrer Seite.
Wir sind bereit für Ihren Boxenstopp!

3. Power, Power, Power!

Sie sind ein Tuning-Fan

Sie haben ein etabliertes PMS-System, allerdings fehlt Ihnen die Power, um alle Aufgaben angemessen und rechtzeitig zu erledigen? Unser Team ist für Sie da!

Unser Ansatz:
Mit zu wenigen Ressourcen kann auch das beste PMS-System nicht richtig funktionieren. Wir stellen Ihnen die in solchen Zeiten benötigten Kapazitäten zur Verfügung und helfen Ihnen, alle Anforderungen einzuhalten. Dank unserer Erfahrung arbeiten wir uns schnell in die Materie ein und erledigen die anfallenden Aufgaben zuverlässig.
Verstärkung fürs Rennteam gesucht? Wir freuen uns aufs Kennenlernen!

4. Saving Energy

Sie stehen auf effiziente Prozesse

Sie benötigen mit dem etablierten PMS-System zu viele interne Kapazitäten (personell, zeitlich, finanziell). Wir helfen Ihnen, Ihre Prozesse effizienter zu gestalten.

Unser Ansatz:
Für uns ist Energiesparen mehr als der Einsatz von Software. Wir wissen, dass es herausfordernd ist, Ressourcen zu optimieren und gleichzeitig so energieeffizient wie möglich zu sein. Wir schauen uns gemeinsam mit Ihnen als objektive Dritte Ihre PMS-Prozesse an, um Ihre Energieeffizienz zu verbessern und gleichzeitig die MDR-Vorschriften einzuhalten. Selbst kleine Änderungen führen im Laufe der Zeit zu großen Einsparungen!
Schonen Sie Ihren Motor mit unserer Unterstützung!

5. Driver´s License

Ihr Team braucht ein PMS-Update

Sie haben interne Kapazitäten, welche entsprechend ausgebildet werden müssen. Kein Problem, unsere Trainer*innen geben ihr Wissen gerne an Sie weiter.

Unser Ansatz:
Im Rahmen der Metecon Academy bieten wir Ihnen maßgeschneiderte Fortbildungen fürs gesamte Team an. Wir verschaffen uns gemeinsam mit Ihnen eine Übersicht des aktuellen Know-Hows. Unsere Trainer*innen sind nicht nur Expert*innen in ihrem Fach – Ihr Erfolg liegt uns am Herzen! Am Ende unserer Workshops erarbeiten wir gemeinsam einen Probelauf an einem Ihrer Produkte, um die Wirksamkeit der Trainingsinhalte in der Praxis sicherzustellen.
Weitere Infos liefern wir gerne!

Das Produkt ist am Markt, die Klinische Bewertung ist gelaufen?

Nein, denn als Hersteller müssen Sie über die gesamte Produktdauer die Sicherheit und Leistungsfähigkeit Ihres Produkts garantieren können. Um geeignete Post Market Clinical Follow-Up (PMCF)-Aktivitäten im Rahmen der Post-Market Surveillance (PMS) festzulegen, gibt es verschiedene Wege, wie die Auswertung bestimmter Fragestellungen mit großer Patientenzahl, Langzeit-Beobachtungen von Patienten oder Untersuchungen zu bekannten Risiken aus der Literatur. Anhand dieser Daten erkennen Sie etwaige Probleme Ihres Produkts, beseitigen diese frühzeitig und passen Ihre Nachfolgeprodukte immer weiter an den Bedarf Ihrer Anwender an.

Post-Market Clinical Follow-Up (PMCF)

Mögliche PMCF-Maßnahmen umfassen Recherche in wissenschaftlicher Literatur und in Vorkommnis-Datenbanken sowie Umfragen bei Patienten und Anwendern zum Produkt. Post-Market Clinical Follow-Up (PMCF)-Studien sind sogenannte Marktbeobachtungsstudien, die für Medizinprodukte mit rechtmäßigem CE-Kennzeichen durchgeführt werden. Dabei muss das Medizinprodukt innerhalb seiner Zweckbestimmung eingesetzt sein, das Studiendesign darf weder zusätzliche invasive noch zusätzlich belastende Untersuchungen beinhalten. Diese Studien dienen dazu, weitere klinische Daten zu generieren und diese in den klinischen Bewertungsbericht einfließen zu lassen. Da die ISO 14155 keine Unterscheidung zwischen Medizinprodukten mit und ohne CE-Kennzeichnung macht, ist diese Norm für alle Studien/Klinischen Prüfungen gleichermaßen anzuwenden.

Wir bringen Struktur in Ihre internen Prozesse der Marktbeobachtung und zeigen Ihnen Möglichkeiten auf, wie Sie diese Daten, gerne auch mit unserer Unterstützung, effizient in die Klinische Bewertung einarbeiten. Wenn die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass Sie eine PMCF-Studie durchführen müssen, planen wir diese Studie effizient und sorgen für ihren reibungslosen Verlauf. Insbesondere bei der Erstellung des PSUR oder PMS-Reports stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Seite – wir wissen, dass diese für Hersteller oft herausfordernd sind.
Sie wollen mehr erfahren? Unsere Erstgespräche sind natürlich kostenfrei!

MDR: Product Lifecycle Reporting

Mit der MDR kommen neue Verpflichtungen auf Sie als Medizinprodukte-Hersteller zu, wie das regelmäßige Anfertigen von Plänen und Berichten. Manche Aktualisierungszeitpunkte sind dabei fest vorgeschrieben, andere müssen in diesen Zyklus sinnvoll eingegliedert werden.

Das Schaubild stellt die Pläne und Berichte in logischer Abfolge dar. So fällt es leichter, Abhängigkeiten zu erkennen. Bereits während der Produktentwicklung muss die Gewinnung klinischer Daten geplant werden. Nach der Zulassung befindet man sich über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus in einem fortlaufenden Prozess der Anfertigung von Plänen und Berichten.

Um allen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden und alle Dokumente rechtzeitig bereitstellen zu können, müssen die einzelnen Phasen gut aufeinander abgestimmt sein.
@ MDR:  Product Life Cycle Reporting

Erläuterungen zur Grafik

+1 - CDP - Clinical Development Plan
Der klinische Entwicklungsplan legt zu Beginn des Entwicklungsprozesses dar, wie Sie an ausreichend klinische Daten für die spätere klinische Evaluierung gelangen werden. Dies kann explorative Studien, Studien zur Erstanwendung am Menschen, Durchführbarkeitsstudien und Pilotstudien bis hin zu Belegstudien beinhalten; ein Ausblick auf mögliche PMCF-Aktivitäten ist an dieser Stelle ebenfalls bereits möglich.
+2 - CEP - Clinical Evaluation Plan
Vor der Durchführung der klinischen Evaluierung legt der klinische Evaluierungsplan den Umfang des klinischen Nachweises dar. Dabei werden die vorhandenen prä- und klinischen Daten, die verbleibenden Restrisiken, neu erkannte Risiken (aus PMS/PMCF/Reklamationen) sowie alle weiteren Claims (auch aus dem Marketing) berücksichtigt. Anschließend werden klinisch relevante Fragestellungen sowie offene Fragen aus dem Risikomanagement abgeleitet. Zuletzt wird die Suchstrategie festgelegt (Quellen, Suchbegriffe, Selektions- und Bewertungskriterien), nach der in der klinischen Evaluierung vorgegangen wird. Die Durchführung muss dann nachvollziehbar protokolliert werden.
+3 - CER - Clinical Evaluation Report
Der klinische Evaluierungsbericht stellt die Ergebnisse der klinischen Evaluierung dar. Dabei werden klinische Daten vom Produkt oder nachgewiesenermaßen gleichartiger Produkte gesammelt, selektiert, bewertet und analysiert. Es wird geprüft, ob die Anforderungen an Sicherheit, Leistung, unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen und Nutzen/Risiko-Verhältnis aus der MDR erfüllt werden. Zudem muss ein Abgleich mit dem Stand des Wissens und mit verfügbaren anderen Behandlungsoptionen erfolgen. Zuletzt wird der Bedarf weiterer klinischer Daten erörtert (PMCF-Aktivitäten) und an das PMS übergeben.
+4 - PMS-Plan / PMCF-Plan und SSCP
PMS-Plan / PMCF-Plan

Im PMS-Plan definiert der Hersteller, auf welche Art und Weise das Produkt nach dem Inverkehrbringen überwacht wird und welche Daten erhoben werden sollen. Bei der produktspezifischen Planung der Aktivitäten sind die Erkenntnisse aus der Klinischen Bewertung und das Risiko-Potential des Produkts zu berücksichtigen. Des Weiteren wird festgelegt und definiert, nach welchen Methoden die Auswertung der Daten erfolgt und welche Kriterien für die Auswertung festgelegt werden. Die Datenerhebung am Markt muss proaktiv durch den Hersteller erfolgen und auch die Beobachtung von ähnlichen Produkten umfassen.

Das Post-Market Clinical Follow-up (PMCF) ist Teil des PMS. Dabei schließt PMCF die Lücken, die im Rahmen der Klinischen Bewertung noch nicht beantwortet werden können (z. B. Langzeitverhalten, Überwachung von Nebenwirkungen und Kontraindikationen). Der PMCF-Plan beschreibt die Methoden und Verfahren für das pro-aktive Sammeln und Bewerten klinischer Daten. Der Umfang kann je nach PMCF-Aktivitäten stark variieren. Daher kann an dieser Stelle durchaus ein PMCF-Masterplan zugrunde gelegt werden, der auf verschiedene PMCF-Pläne verweist, in denen die Einzelaktivitäten dargestellt sind.

SSCP - Summary of Safety and Clinical Performance

Der SSCP-Bericht muss von Herstellern ausschließlich für Klasse III- und implantierbare Produkte angefertigt werden. Der Bericht wird in der Gebrauchsanweisung oder der Kennzeichnung ausgewiesen und wird der Öffentlichkeit über Eudamed zugänglich gemacht. Dabei muss der Bericht so geschrieben sein, dass er für den Laien verständlich ist. Sinn des Kurzberichts ist es, das Produkt im Kontext seiner Anwendung darzustellen und alternative Optionen in Bezug auf Therapie oder Diagnose sowie Restrisiken und unerwünschte Wirkungen auszuweisen. Vor Veröffentlichung erfolgt eine Validierung des Berichts durch die Benannte Stelle, die den Bericht dann in Eudamed bereitstellt. Inhalt und Format der Darstellung wird von der europäischen Leitlinie MDCG 2019-9 beschrieben.
+5 - Proactive PMS: Vigilance Report, PMCF Report, Trends
Die proaktive PMS-Phase ist der Zeitraum, in dem Sie auch Ihre PMCF-Aktivitäten durchführen und Marktdaten sammeln und bewerten. Die Strategien, die Sie im PMS-Plan festgelegt haben, müssen sicherstellen, dass meldepflichtige Ereignisse wie Vigilanzfälle und Trends identifiziert und rechtzeitig gemeldet werden können.

Vigilanz: beschreibt die Meldung von schwerwiegenden Vorkommnissen und Sicherheitskorrekturmaßnahmen im Feld an die Behörde. Hierzu benötigt jeder Hersteller ein geeignetes System, in welchem sichergestellt ist, dass die Bewertung und Analyse solcher Ereignisse möglich ist und die Meldefristen eingehalten werden können. Die Meldungen erfolgen über EUDAMED.

PMCF: Die Ergebnisse der PMCF-Aktivitäten werden in einem oder mehreren PMCF Reports dokumentiert und analysiert. Der Umfang der Auswertung kann je nach PMCF-Aktivität stark variieren. Die Schlussfolgerungen des PMCF Reports müssen in den PSUR/PMS-Bericht und darüber hinaus in die Klinische Bewertung und das Risikomanagement einbezogen werden.

Trends: Statistisch signifikante Anstiege in Häufigkeit oder Schweregrad von nicht-schwerwiegenden Vorkommnissen oder erwarteten unerwünschten Nebenwirkungen müssen, sofern sie eine Auswirkung auf das Nutzen-Risiko-Verhältnis haben können, der zuständigen Behörde gemeldet werden. Indem Sie Ihre Beobachtungen mit den Erwartungen aus der Risikoanalyse abgleichen, gelangen Sie zu einem Ergebnis darüber, ob ein Anstieg signifikant ist. Im PMS-Plan muss eine Methodik dargelegt werden, wie Trends sicher erkannt werden können. Zudem muss der Beobachtungszeitraum festgelegt werden.
+6 - PMS Report / PSUR
Der PMS Report wird für Klasse I-Produkte erstellt und beinhaltet die Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse aus den gewonnenen Marktdaten des letzten Überwachungszeitraums/Zyklus. Auf Basis dieser Ergebnisse wird eine Schlussfolgerung getroffen, die an die Klinische Bewertung weitergegeben wird. Zudem werden Korrektur- und Vorbeugemaßnahmen dargelegt und begründet. Sinn und Zweck des PMS Reports ist es, über die gesamte Produktlebensdauer Erkenntnisse über das Verhalten des Produkts am Markt zu gewinnen, die für die weitere Produktentwicklung sowie die Gewährleistung der Produktsicherheit genutzt werden können. Auf diese Weise kann sichergestellt werden, dass das Produkt zu jeder Zeit den Anforderungen der Verordnung entspricht.

Der PSUR wird für Klasse IIa-, IIb- und III-Produkte erstellt und beinhaltet ebenso wie der PMS-Bericht die Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse aus den gewonnen Marktdaten des letzten Überwachungszeitraums. Auf Basis dieser Ergebnisse wird eine Schlussfolgerung getroffen, die an die Klinische Bewertung weitergegeben wird. Zudem werden Korrektur- und Vorbeugemaßnahmen dargelegt und begründet.
Neben den Themen des PMS-Berichts beinhaltet der PSUR zudem die Schlussfolgerungen aus der Nutzen-Risiko-Abwägung, die wichtigsten Ergebnisse aus dem PMCF und die Gesamtabsatzmenge des Produkts sowie weitere Angaben zu Häufigkeiten, z. B. zur Anwendung.
Sinn und Zweck des PSURs ist es, über die gesamte Produktlebensdauer Erkenntnisse über das Verhalten des Produkts zu gewinnen, die für die weitere Produktentwicklung sowie die Gewährleistung der Produktsicherheit genutzt werden können. Auf diese Weise kann sichergestellt werden, dass das Produkt zu jeder Zeit den Anforderungen der Verordnung entspricht.

Unsere Leistungen im Einzelnen

Unterstützung und Beratung zur Post-Market Surveillance (PMS), z. B. durch Planung der proaktiven Marktbeobachtung und Erstellung von PMS-Prozessen.

Erstellung von Plänen und Berichten, die im Rahmen der MDR notwendig werden:
  • CDP - Clinical Development Plan
  • CEP - Clinical Evaluation Plan
  • CER - Clinical Evaluation Report
  • PMS-Plan/PMCF-Plan
  • SSCP - Summary of Safety and Clinical Performance: "Kurzbericht über Sicherheit und klinische Leistung" für Klasse III und implantierbare Produkte
  • Vigilance Report, PMCF Report, Trends (Proactive Post-Market Surveillance) für alle Produkte
  • PMS Report für Produkte der Klasse I und Periodic Safety Update Report (PSUR) für alle Produkte ab Klasse IIa.
Kontaktieren Sie uns, und wir finden gemeinsam heraus, wie wir Sie fundiert und gewissenhaft bei der Planung, Durchführung und Auswertung all dieser Reports unterstützen können.