Clinical Evaluation

With a clinical evaluation, you as the manufacturer prove the clinical capability of your medical device. In other words: You provide evidence that the product actually delivers the medical benefit you promise in product information material and advertising.

A clinical evaluation is based on clinical data from scientific literature and/or from own data acquired in clinical investigations. It is part of the technical documentation and must be presented for the approval of any medical device regardless of its risk class. In the evaluation process, the benefit expected from the application of the medical device according to its intended use is weighed critically against the results from risk analysis, the state of the art, clinical standards, as well as the knowledge collected from scientific publications.

Performance Evaluation IVD

Within the Performance Evaluation the manufacturer proofs the compliance of the IVD with the essential safety and performance requirements of the IVDR.
learn more

The aim of clinical evaluation

Our aim is not just a one-time set up of your clinical evaluation. We want to put you in the position to keep the documentation of your clinical evaluation up to date in the future across the entire product lifecycle with the lowest possible effort in terms of time and personnel.
contact us

The aim is always to confirm the clinical efficacy and safety throughout the expected lifecycle of the medical device and to verify that the identified risks are justifiable in relation to the clinical benefit.

Clinical evaluation is complex and the process requires a considerable amount of time so that it may only be managed by an interdisciplinary team. Commission our experts with parts of the process or the complete package and we will take care that you can concentrate on your core competencies in the meanwhile. Furthermore, we provide you with suitable strategies to keep your documents up to date in the future with little time and personnel efforts.

Our clinical evaluation services:


Developing literature-based clinical evaluations of the medical device in accordance with MEDDEV 2.7/1 revision 4 for the intended use; for products already available on the market or for pre-clinical evaluations before and during product development. This includes:

  • Planning and conducting scientific and documented literature research,
  • Evaluating current data from scientific literature,
  • Analyzing market observation data,
  • Establishing contact with medical experts,
  • Evaluating the documents and results of clinical investigations.
Supporting in the context of meeting vigilance in accordance with MEDDEV 2.12-1 and of a strategy for developing and updating clinical evaluations across the entire product lifecycle:

  • Ensuring timeliness of the clinical evaluation across the entire product lifecycle by developing suitable processes
  • Preparing suitable templates for literature search as well as for the clinical evaluation plan and report.

Consulting, training and workshops focusing on the MEDDEV 2.7.1 guideline and its implementation in the company adapted to individual processes.

Klinische Bewertung: Klinischer Nachweis für Ihr Medizinprodukt

Mit der Klinischen Bewertung weisen Sie als Hersteller die klinische Leistungsfähigkeit Ihres Medizinprodukts nach, sprich: Sie liefern den Nachweis, dass das Produkt tatsächlich den von Ihnen in Produktinformation und Werbung versprochenen medizinischen Nutzen liefert.

Die Klinische Bewertung erfolgt anhand von klinischen Daten aus der wissenschaftlichen Literatur und/oder aus eigenen, in Klinischen Prüfungen erzeugten Daten. Sie ist Teil der Technischen Dokumentation und muss im Rahmen der Zulassung jedes Medizinprodukts unabhängig von der Risikoklasse vorgelegt werden. Dazu wird der mit dem Einsatz des Medizinprodukts verbundene Nutzen gemäß der Zweckbestimmung kritisch abgewogen gegen die Ergebnisse der Risikoanalyse, den Stand der Technik, die klinischen Standards sowie das gesammelte Wissen wissenschaftlicher Publikationen.

Leistungsbewertung IVD

In der Leistungsbewertung weist der Hersteller mit geeigneten Mitteln nach, dass das in Verkehr gebrachte IVD die grundlegenden Sicherheits- und Leistungsanforderungen der IVDR erfüllt.
Mehr dazu

Ziel der Klinischen Bewertung

Ziel ist immer die Bestätigung der klinischen Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit über die erwartete Lebensdauer des Medizinprodukts sowie die Vertretbarkeit der identifizierten Risiken in Relation zum klinischen Nutzen.

Die Klinische Bewertung ist umfangreich und ihre Erstellung äußerst zeitintensiv, so dass sie nur noch in einem interdisziplinierten Team durchgeführt werden kann. Beauftragen Sie unsere Experten mit Teilaufgaben oder ihrer gesamten Erstellung und wir halten Ihnen den Rücken frei, damit Sie sich währenddessen auf Ihre Kernkompetenzen konzentrieren können. Darüber hinaus geben wir Ihnen gerne geeignete Strategien an die Hand, um Ihre Dokumente künftig mit geringem Zeit- und Personalaufwand selbst aktuell halten zu können.


Es ist nicht in unserem Sinne, Ihre Klinische Bewertung einmalig zu erstellen. Wir wollen Sie in die Lage versetzen, künftig mit möglichst geringem Zeit- und Personalaufwand Ihre Dokumentation zur Klinischen Bewertung über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus aktuell zu halten.

Unsere Leistungen im Bereich Klinische Bewertung:

Erstellung von Klinischen Bewertungen auf Literaturbasis nach MEDDEV 2.7/1 Rev. 4 des Medizinprodukts für den vorgesehenen Verwendungszweck; für Produkte, die bereits am Markt sind oder für präklinische Bewertungen vor und während der Produktentwicklung. Hierzu zählen:

  • Planung und Durchführung einer wissenschaftlichen und protokollierten Literaturrecherche,
  • Auswertung aktueller Daten aus der wissenschaftlichen Literatur,
  • Analyse von Daten der Marktbeobachtung,
  • Kontakt zu Medical Experts
  • Auswertung der Dokumente und Ergebnisse von Klinischen Prüfungen.
Unterstützung bei der Erfüllung der Vigilanz nach MEDDEV 2.12-1. und Strategie zur Erstellung und Aktualisierung von Klinischen Bewertungen über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus:

  • Gewährleistung der Aktualität der Klinischen Bewertung über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus durch Erarbeitung von geeigneten Prozessen
  • Erstellung geeigneter Templates für die Literatursuche sowie den Plan und Bericht zur Klinischen Bewertung.

Beratung, Schulung und Workshops zur Leitlinie MEDDEV 2.7/1 und die Umsetzung im Unternehmen angepasst auf die individuellen Prozesse.