Technical documentation: Your ticket to the in vitro diagnostics market

In vitro diagnostic medical devices (IVDs) are the specialists among medical devices: complex and effective. As they take on a special role, IVDs are regulated separately. (IVDR (EU) 2017/746 effective May 26, 2022, until now by IVDD 98/79/EG).
The efficient interaction of different quality management processes is to ensure safe and effective devices that remain safe and effective throughout their entire life cycle. With the technical documentation you prove against third parties that these processes are conducted in a correct manner and conform to the respective target country. We support you on all levels and at any given time in the product life cycle to fulfill this requirement.

Regardless of its risk class, any in vitro diagnostic medical device (IVD) you intend to launch on the market always requires technical documentation.
The technical documentation includes all details about the in vitro diagnostic medical device. In addition to all information about development, manufacturing, verification and validation, it also includes the actual technical specifications as well as information about the application of the device.

By means of the technical documentation you as the manufacturer establish proof that your IVD conforms to the underlying regulations of the individual countries. Furthermore, it confirms compliance with the basic safety and performance requirements for European CE marking. It is the prerequisite for the approval of a device in the relevant target country. After a device’s final application, the technical documentation must be kept available for inspection by the surveillance authorities for a period of at least ten years.

Classification of IVDs


Under the IVD directive, devices are classified in accordance with Annex II into list A or list B devices, or devices for self application and others. With the introduction of the IVD regulation, devices are separated into four classes A, B, C or D based on seven classification rules. Depending on the classification of the in vitro diagnostic medical device, different requirements regarding the conformity assessment procedure and the involvement of the notified body have to be observed. (Link to classification rules) More about IVDR

Keep track of everything: Your IVDR schedule

Between directive (IVDD) and regulation (IVDR):
What do you have to do?

UDI, EUDAMED, software, classification, involvement of the notified body for a majority of devices... These are some keywords in the current discussion and in view of the IVDR taking effect, the major obstacles that manufacturers have to overcome. In addition, these issues are interdependent, i.e. the results of risk management influence software development, UDI requirements affect labeling processes, post market surveillance needs must be represented in the QMS – in short: Regulatory is teamwork.

Not really much is left of the five-year transition period from when the regulation was published in 2017 to its enforcement in 2022. And if we just do some simple math together: Assuming there are 50 product files and you need only 200 hours each for revision, you end up with a total of 10,000 hours – more than one person could have handled in five years.

You need support? We look forward to contributing to your team success!

IVD classification: Everything planned already?


Especially the new classification rules and the resulting increase in regulation through the notified body confront manufacturers with tremendous challenges. Considering the defined timelines, you need a solid and elaborate plan how to revise the technical documentation.

Your advantages when working with us

  • We are your reliable partner for adapting your QM processes and developing and revising the technical documentation of your IVDs.
  • You receive all documents for your technical documentation based on your templates and ready to be signed for approval (international) or product certification (EU).
  • Our experience with technical documentation and the certification process as well as with verification and validation ensures that we reach your goals quickly and efficiently.
  • Our GAP analyses deliver recommendations on all levels of your regulatory activities (QM system, technical documentation, product portfolio).

Our services in detail

Develop and maintain the technical documentation
  • Creating the content of the technical documentation (EU and international) – conforming to applicable standards and laws,
  • Checking the technical documentation of IVDs already available on the market against current regulatory requirements,
  • Communicating with notified bodies and test laboratories.

Revising and adapting quality management
  • Analyzing the need for changes,
  • Adapting the processes.

In addition we offer consulting and support for:
  • Risk management process in accordance with ISO 14971,
  • Usability in accordance with ISO 62366,
  • Software development process in accordance with IEC 62304,
  • Performance evaluation, verification and validation.

More of what we can do for you and your technical documentation

Fit for the future with the Metecon Academy

Each of our workshops and in-house courses provides sustainable knowledge and know-how in the areas of technical documentation, regulatory affairs and QM and is always exactly tailored to your needs.

Our customers use our workshops with our experts:
to keep themselves and their team up to date with the latest knowledge and/or to go into intensive exchange with us and gain clarity in the face of a current challenge about a specific description of objectives and the project strategy.

Through the operation of our own trainee academy, our comprehensive training material is always up to date.

Let us find out together what your team needs!












Workshop topics:

  • Implementation of IVDR for technical documentation and QM
  • Risk management
  • Usability
  • Biological safety
  • Clinical affairs
  • Software
  • Approval
  • Quality management

Ihre Nachricht an uns

Technische Dokumentation: Ihre Eintrittskarte zum In-vitro-Diagnostik-Markt

In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVD) sind die Spezialisten unter den Medizinprodukten: komplex und effektiv. Aufgrund ihrer Besonderheit werden IVD separat reguliert. (IVDR (EU) 2017/746 gültig ab 26. Mai 2022, bis dato über die IVDD 98/79/EG).
Aus dem effizienten Zusammenspiel der verschiedenen Prozesse des Qualitätsmanagements sollen sichere und wirksame Produkte entstehen und über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus erhalten werden. In der Technischen Dokumentation führen Sie gegenüber Dritten den Nachweis, dass diese Prozesse richtig und konform zum jeweiligen Zielland durchgeführt werden. Wir unterstützen Sie auf allen Ebenen und zu jedem Zeitpunkt des Produktlebenszyklus, diese Anforderung zu erfüllen.

Unabhängig von der Risikoklasse braucht ein In-vitro-Diagnostikum (IVD), welches Sie auf den Markt bringen wollen, immer eine Technische Dokumentation.
Die Technische Dokumentation beinhaltet alle detaillierten Informationen rund um das IVD. Dazu zählen neben Angaben zur Entwicklung, zur Herstellung, zu Verifizierung und Validierung die eigentlichen technischen Produktinformationen sowie die Angaben zur Anwendung des Produkts.

Mit der Technischen Dokumentation weisen Sie als Hersteller die Konformität Ihres IVD mit den zugrundeliegenden Regularien der einzelnen Länder nach. Überdies dient sie als Nachweis der Erfüllung der Grundlegenden Sicherheits- und Leistungsanforderungen für die europäische CE-Kennzeichnung. Dies ist Voraussetzung für die Zulassung eines Produkts entsprechend des Ziellandes. Nach dem letztmaligen Inverkehrbringen muss die Technische Dokumentation für den Zeitraum von mindestens zehn Jahren zur Einsichtnahme durch die Überwachungsbehörden bereitgehalten werden.

Klassifizierung für IVD


Unter der IVD-Richtlinie werden die Produkte nach Anhang II eingeteilt in Liste A- oder B-Produkte, bzw. in Produkte zur Eigenanwendung und in Sonstige. Neu mit Einführung der IVD-Verordnung erfolgt eine auf sieben Klassifizierungsregeln basierende Einteilung in die Klassen A, B, C oder D. In Abhängigkeit von der Klassifizierung des In-vitro-Diagnostikums sind unterschiedliche Vorgaben zum Konformitätsbewertungsverfahren und der Einbindung der Benannten Stelle zu beachten. Mehr zu den Klassifizierungsregeln

Behalten Sie alles im Blick: Ihr IVDR-Fahrplan

Zwischen Richtlinie (IVDD) und Verordnung (IVDR): Was ist zu tun?

UDI, EUDAMED, Software, Klassifizierung, Einbindung der Benannten Stellen für einen Großteil der Produkte… Das sind einige Schlagworte aus der aktuellen Diskussion und mit Blick auf Inkrafttreten der IVDR die größten Hindernisse, die die Hersteller zu überwinden haben. Noch dazu sind diese Themen interdependent, d. h. die Ergebnisse des Risikomanagements beeinflussen die Softwareentwicklung, UDI-Anforderungen die Labelling-Prozesse, die Anforderungen an Post Market Surveillance müssen im QMS abgebildet werden, kurz gesagt: Regulatory ist Teamarbeit.

Bis Mai 2022 ist nicht mehr viel Zeit, rechnen wir kurz gemeinsam nach: Wenn Sie für 50 Produktakten nur je 200 Arbeitsstunden für die Überarbeitung benötigen, sind das 10.000 Stunden Arbeitszeit insgesamt - und damit mehr als ein Einzelner bis zum Ende der Übergangsfrist bewältigen kann.

Unterstützung gewünscht? Wir freuen uns darauf, zu Ihrem Teamerfolg beizutragen.

IVD-Klassifizierung: Schon einen Plan?

Speziell die neuen Klassifizierungsregeln und die dadurch gesteigerte Regulierung über die Benannte Stelle konfrontieren Hersteller mit extremen Herausforderungen. Angesichts der zeitlichen Vorgaben muss die Überarbeitung der Technischen Dokumentation gut geplant und durchdacht sein.

Ihre Vorteile aus der Zusammenarbeit mit uns

  • Wir sind Ihr verlässlicher Partner bei der Anpassung Ihrer QM-Prozesse und der Erstellung und Überarbeitung der Technischen Dokumentation Ihrer IVD.
  • Sie erhalten alle Dokumente für Ihre Technische Dokumentation unterschriftsreif auf Ihren Vorlagen für die Zulassung (international) bzw. Produktzertifizierung (EU).
  • Unsere Erfahrung sowohl in der Dokumentation und dem Zertifizierungsprozess als auch in der Verifikation und Validierung ist Garant dafür, dass wir Ihre Ziele schnell und effizient erreichen.
  • Unsere GAP-Analysen liefern Handlungsempfehlungen auf allen Ebenen Ihrer regulatorischen Aktivitäten (QM-System, Technische Dokumentation, Produktportfolio).

Unsere Leistungen im Einzelnen

Erstellung und Pflege der Technischen Dokumentation
  • Erstellen der Inhalte der Technischen Dokumentation (EU und international) – norm- und gesetzeskonform,
  • Prüfung der Technischen Dokumentation von bereits am Markt befindlichen IVD gegen die regulatorischen Anforderungen,
  • Kommunikation mit Benannten Stellen, Behörden und Testlaboren.

Überarbeitung und Anpassung des Qualitätsmanagements
  • Analyse des Änderungsbedarfs,
  • Anpassung der Prozesse.

Überdies bieten wir Ihnen Beratung und Unterstützung bei:
  • Risikomanagementprozess nach ISO 14971,
  • Gebrauchstauglichkeit nach ISO 62366,
  • Softwareentwicklungsprozess nach IEC 62304,
  • Leistungsbewertung; Verifizierung und Validierung.

Mehr von dem, was wir im Bereich Technische Dokumentation für Sie tun können

Fit für die Zukunft mit der Metecon-Akademie

Jeder unserer Workshops vermittelt nachhaltig Wissen und Know-how in den Bereichen Technische Dokumentation, Regulatory Affairs und QM und ist immer passgenau auf Ihre Bedürfnisse abgestimmt.

Unsere Kunden nutzen unsere Workshops mit unseren Experten:
  • um sich und ihr Team auf den neuesten Wissensstand zu bringen und/oder
  • um sich angesichts einer aktuellen Herausforderung im intensiven Austausch mit uns über die konkrete Zielbeschreibung und Projektstrategie Klarheit zu verschaffen.
Durch den Betrieb unserer eigenen Trainee-Akademie verfügen wir aktuell über ca. 1.500 stets aktuelle PPT-Schulungsfolien zu allen regulatorischen Themen. Das kommt Ihnen zugute: Lassen Sie keine wertvolle Zeit verrinnen! Wir identifizieren sofort Ihren passenden Spezialisten, sind immer vorbereitet und setzen Ihren Workshop um, wenn er gebraucht wird: jetzt.

Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam herausfinden, was Ihr Team braucht!




Workshop-Themen

  • Umsetzung MDR bzw. IVDR für Technische Dokumentation (Bestandsprodukte) und QM
  • Risikomanagement
  • Usability
  • Biologische Sicherheit
  • Clinical Affairs
  • Software
  • Qualitätsmanagement

Ihre Nachricht an uns