Develop and maintain the technical documentation

First of all, the technical documentation is to establish proof that all regulatory requirements for market access are adhered to. In Europe this means adherence to the essential requirements according to Annex I of the IVDD and, from May 2022 on, to the essential safety and performance requirements according to Annex I of the IVDR.

However, another aspect is just as important: The technical documentation is an important tool for minimizing risks of liability. Because only if you are able to reproduce properly whether an event on the market is due to a design error or may be limited to a batch, you may launch adequate and reasonably limited measures.

And last not least: If preparation of the documentation is well interlinked with the product development process, the safety and predictability of your development process benefit tremendously.

The new classification rules imply increased regulation by the notified body. Considering the tight timing, the revision of your technical documentation requires well structured and clever planning.
Contact us

Functional and requirement specifications form the basis for your verification planning – and then you kill all birds with one stone!

... you get an overview of verification measures to be implemented and are able to plan the schedule more efficiently.

... you are provided with the information about which and how many test samples you need to be able to implement all verification measures at an early stage.

... With a timely verification plan, you receive direct feedback whether the requirements and specifications are phrased in such manner that they can be tested (the requirement to do this is laid out in chapter 7 of EN ISO 13485).

... you get an overview of verification measures to be implemented and are able to plan the schedule more efficiently..

... you are provided with the information about which and how many test samples you need to be able to implement all verification measures at an early stage.

Classification

According to IVDR, the classification rules are to be applied to the classification of in vitro diagnostic medical devices just as for medical devices. Depending on the IVD classification, different requirements must be met in terms of the conformity assessment procedure and an involvement of the notified body.More about IVDR

Clear, organized, readily searchable and unambiguous

All product files must be updated continuously with post-market surveillance (PMS) results throughout the entire life cycle. Also the effects of changes to the device or manufacturing processes must be documented accordingly. The technical documentation therefore is a living document that needs to be maintained continuously. If your technical documentation is well structured and searchable, you will facilitate its maintenance and save a lot of time in the long run. The IVDR therefore also explicitly requires that “the technical documentation and, if applicable, the summary thereof to be drawn up by the manufacturer shall be presented in a clear, organized, readily searchable and unambiguous manner.”

From developing and optimizing your market observation processes to maintaining your technical documentation: We are happy to support you!

Fit for today, fit for the future!


Our workshops give you the competence you need and help you master your current challenges. Let us find out together what you really need. Our expert workshops are always sustainable and individually tailored.

Get more information now

Erstellung und Pflege der Technischen Dokumentation

In erster Linie dient die Technische Dokumentation dem Nachweis der Einhaltung der regulatorischen Anforderungen für den Marktzugang; in Europa demnach der Einhaltung der Grundlegenden Anforderungen gemäß Anhang I der IVD und vom Mai 2022 an den Grundlegenden Sicherheits- und Leistungsanforderungen gemäß Anhang I der IVDR.

Ein anderer Aspekt sollte jedoch gleichermaßen berücksichtigt werden: Die Technische Dokumentation ist ein wichtiges Werkzeug zur Minimierung von Haftungsrisiken. Denn nur, wenn Sie einwandfrei nachvollziehen können, ob ein Vorkommnis im Markt auf einem Designfehler basiert oder auf die Charge eingegrenzt werden kann, können sie adäquate und vernünftig eingegrenzte Maßnahmen einleiten.

Und last not least: Wenn die Erstellung der Dokumentation gut mit dem Entwicklungsprozess verzahnt ist, entsteht ein ungeheurer Nutzen für die Sicherheit und Planbarkeit Ihres Entwicklungsprozesses.

Die neuen Klassifizierungsregeln bedingen eine gesteigerte Regulierung über die Benannte Stelle. Die Überarbeitung der Technischen Dokumentation muss angesichts der zeitlichen Vorgaben gut geplant und durchdacht sein.
Kontaktanfrage

Lasten- und Pflichtenheft sind die Basis Ihres Verifikationsplans - und dann schlagen Sie alle Fliegen mit einer Klappe!

Mit einem zeitnahen Verifikationsplan prüfen Sie direkt, ob die Anforderungen und Spezifikationen so formuliert sind, dass man sie testen kann (eine Forderung, dies zu tun, findet sich in Kapitel 7 der EN ISO 13485).

... erhalten Sie eine Übersicht der durchzuführenden Verifikationsmaßnahmen und können die Zeitdauern besser planen.

... bekommen Sie frühzeitig die Information, welche und wie viele Prüfmuster Sie benötigen, um alle Verifikationsmaßnahmen durchführen zu können.

Klassifizierung

Wie bei den Medizinprodukten auch sind gemäß IVDR für die Klassifizierung von IVD die Klassifizierungsregeln anzuwenden. Entsprechend der Klassifizierung des IVD sind unterschiedliche Vorgaben zum Konformitätsbewertungsverfahren und der Einbindung der Benannten Stelle zu beachten.Mehr zur neuen IVD-Klassifizierung

Klar, organisiert, leicht durchsuchbar und eindeutig

Alle Produktakten müssen über die gesamte Lebensdauer mit den Ergebnissen der Marktbeobachtung (PMS) aktualisiert werden. Auch die Auswirkungen von Änderungen am Produkt oder an den Herstellungsprozessen müssen entsprechend dokumentiert sein. Die Technische Dokumentation ist demnach ein lebendiges Dokument, das kontinuierlich gepflegt sein will. Ist Ihre Technische Dokumentation gut strukturiert und durchsuchbar, dann erleichtern Sie sich die Pflege und sparen auf Dauer viel Zeit. Die IVDR fordert daher auch explizit, dass „die vom Hersteller zu erstellende technische Dokumentation und, sofern erforderlich, deren Zusammenfassung (...) in klarer, organisierter, leicht durchsuchbarer und eindeutiger Form präsentiert (wird)“.

Ob bei der Erstellung und Optimierung Ihres Marktbeobachtungsprozesses oder bei der Pflege der Technischen Dokumentation: Wir unterstützen Sie gerne!

Fit für jetzt, fit für die Zukunft!


Unsere Workshops dienen der Kompetenzvermittlung und schaffen Klarheit bei aktuellen Herausforderungen. Was konkret Sie brauchen, finden wir gemeinsam heraus. Was ein Workshop mit unseren Experten immer ist: nachhaltig und passgenau.


Informieren Sie sich jetzt