IVD verification and validation

Your aim as a manufacturer of IVD medical devices is a quick development process resulting in a shorter time-to-market. Timely planning of required testing gives you the decisive time advantage and reduces development costs.

The validation of software and production processes, including the validation of software used in these processes, is an essential and critical element for the safety and operability of your IVD medical device. Do you really know the ropes?

The prerequisite for planning verification and validation are risk analysis and the specifications. What is the intended use? Who are the users? Just two important questions!

We are your experienced partner when it comes to verification and validation of in vitro diagnostic medical devices. Let’s get in touch!

DIN EN ISO 9000:2015-11

Verification is the confirmation, through provision of objective evidence, that specified requirements have been fulfilled.”
Validation is the confirmation, through the provision of objective evidence, that the requirements for a specific intended use or application have been fulfilled.”

The verification process at a glance


timetable verification

Verification: how we help you reduce your development costs and time-to-market

Reduce development costs and time-to-market
  • Verification planning based on specifications and risk analysis,
  • Defining the test specification,
  • Performing and analyzing verification,
  • Drawing up the verification report,
  • Validating (planning, performing, reporting) the IVD medical device.

Verification may quickly become time and cost-intensive. By means of a strategic coordination of Development and Regulatory Affairs we realize the ideal solution.
Contact us

Verification and validation: Definition according to DIN EN ISO 13485-2016

7.3.6 Design and development verification

Design and development verification shall be performed in accordance with planned and documented arrangements to ensure that the design and development outputs have met the design and development input requirements. The organization shall document verification plans that include methods, acceptance criteria and, as appropriate, statistical techniques with rationale for sample size. If the intended use requires that the medical device be connected to, or have an interface with, other medical device(s), verification shall include confirmation that the design outputs meet design inputs when so connected or interfaced. Records of the results and conclusions of the verification and necessary actions shall be maintained.

7.3.7 Development validation

Design and development validation shall be performed in accordance with planned and documented processes to ensure that the resulting product is capable of meeting the requirements for the specified application or intended use. The organization shall document validation plans that include methods, acceptance criteria and, as appropriate, statistical techniques with rationale for sample size. Design validation shall be conducted on representative product. Representative product includes initial production units, batches or their equivalents. The rationale for the choice of product used for validation shall be recorded (see4.2.5). As part of design and development validation, the organization shall perform clinical evaluations or performance evaluations of the medical device in accordance with applicable regulatory requirements. A medical device used for clinical evaluation or performance evaluation is not considered to be released for use to the customer. If the intended use requires that the medical device be connected to, or have an interface with, other medical device(s), verification shall include confirmation that the requirements for the specified application or intended use have been met when so connected or interfaced. Validation shall be completed prior to release for use of the product to the customer. Records of the results and conclusions of the validation and necessary actions shall be maintained (see 4.2.4 and 4.2.5).

How are you organized?
Do you have the terms verification and validation defined within your company? What is your approach in this regard? Is verification/validation carried out by an independent team? Is the evidence objective? Not to forget: Do you define the acceptance criteria in advance? Do you describe the statistical techniques with rationale for sample size? And then, in addition to product validation, processes, methods and software must also be validated among others.
If you have any questions: We have the answers.

Our contribution to the validation of your devices:
Safety and functionality guaranteed

  • [L]
  • Validation of IVD medical devices incl. software: Preparation of a plan, support for execution (clinical trials, usability), preparation of a report;
  • Process validation;
  • Transport and cleaning validation.

Our QM team is happy to contribute its share that all of your production processes comply with all QM requirements.
Contact us

Scientific validity, analytical performance and clinical performance

The IVDR requires you to demonstrate the following relationships and abilities of your product as part of your performance evaluation. The results are then jointly incorporated into the performance evaluation report (PER):

1. Scientific validity
Scientific validity means the association of an analyte with a clinical condition or a physiological state. Usually, the association has already been scientifically proven, but this must be documented.

2. Analytical performance
The analytical performance of a device describes its ability to correctly detect or measure a particular analyte.



3. Clinical performance
The clinical performance describes the ability of a device to yield results that are correlated with a particular clinical condition or a physiological or pathological process or state in accordance with the target population and intended user.

Do your analytical performance tests count for verification and your clinical performance tests for validation? Or is validation in your case a clinical trial, possibly in combination with a usability test?

We look forward to finding out more.


What are you interested in?

Fit for the future with the Metecon Academy

Each of our workshops and in-house courses provides sustainable knowledge and know-how in the areas of technical documentation, regulatory affairs and QM and is always exactly tailored to your needs.

Our customers use our workshops with our experts:
to keep themselves and their team up to date with the latest knowledge and/or to go into intensive exchange with us and gain clarity in the face of a current challenge about a specific description of objectives and the project strategy.

Through the operation of our own trainee academy, our comprehensive training material is always up to date.

Let us find out together what your team needs!












Workshop topics:

  • Implementation of IVDR for technical documentation and QM
  • Risk management
  • Usability
  • Biological safety
  • Clinical affairs
  • Software
  • Approval
  • Quality management

Ihre Nachricht an uns

Verifikation und Validierung von IVD

Ihr Ziel als Hersteller von IVD-Produkten ist ein rascher Entwicklungsprozess mit dem Ergebnis einer kürzeren Time-to-Market. Durch eine frühzeitige Planung Ihrer Testungen gewinnen Sie den entscheidenden Zeitvorteil und reduzieren Ihre Entwicklungskosten.

Die Validierung von Software und Prozessen der Produktion, einschließlich der Validierung der Software, die in diesen Prozessen eingesetzt wird, ist ein essentielles und kritisches Element für die Sicherheit und Funktionsfähigkeit Ihres IVDs. Wie sattelfest sind Sie hier?

Voraussetzung für die Planung von Verifikation und Validierung sind eine Risikoanalyse und die Spezifikationen. Wie lautet Ihre Zweckbestimmung? Wer sind Ihre Anwender? Alles spannende Fragen!

Wir sind Ihr erfahrener Partner in allen Belangen der Verifikation und Validierung von In-vitro-Diagnostik-Produkten. Lassen Sie uns ins Gespräch kommen!

DIN EN ISO 9000:2015-11

Verifikation ist die "Bestätigung durch Bereitstellung eines objektiven Nachweises, dass festgelegte Anforderungen erfüllt worden sind."

Validierung meint die "Bestätigung durch Bereitstellung eines objektiven Nachweises, dass die Anforderungen für einen spezifischen beabsichtigten Gebrauch oder eine spezifischen beabsichtigte Anwendung erfüllt worden sind."

Der Verifikationsprozess im Überblick


MET_Fahrplan_Verifikation

Reduzieren Sie mit uns Entwicklungskosten und Time-to-market


  • Verifikationsplanung auf Basis der Spezifikation und Risikoanalyse,
  • Erstellen der Testspezifikation,
  • Durchführung und Auswertung der Verifikation,
  • Erstellung des Verifizierungsreports,
  • Validierung (Planung, Durchführung, Report) des IVD-Produkts.

Verifikation kann schnell langwierig und kostenintensiv werden. Durch strategische Abstimmung zwischen Entwicklung und Regulatory Affairs realisieren wir die optimale Lösung.
Kontaktanfrage

Verifikation und Validierung: Definition nach DIN EN ISO 13485-2016

7.3.6 Entwicklungsverifizierung

Die Entwicklungsverifizierung muss nach geplanten und dokumentierten Regelungen durchgeführt werden, um sicherzustellen, dass die Entwicklungsergebnisse die Anforderungen an Entwicklungseingaben erfüllen. Die Organisation muss Verifizierungspläne dokumentieren, die Methoden, Annahmekriterien und, so weit angemessen, statistische Methoden mit Begründung für den Stichprobenumfang enthalten. Falls der bestimmungsgemäße Gebrauch erfordert, dass das Medizinprodukt an ein anderes Medizinprodukt/andere Medizinprodukte angeschlossen wird oder eine Schnittstelle mit ihm/ihnen besitzt, muss die Verifizierung eine Bestätigung beinhalten, dass die Entwicklungsergebnisse nach Herstellung einer Verbindung oder Benutzung einer Schnittstelle den Entwicklungseingaben entsprechen. Es müssen Aufzeichnungen über die Ergebnisse und Schlussfolgerungen der Verifizierung und notwendige Maßnahmen aufrechterhalten werden

7.3.7 Entwicklungsvalidierung

Eine Entwicklungsvalidierung muss nach geplanten und dokumentierten Regelungen durchgeführt werden, um sicherzustellen, dass das resultierende Produkt in der Lage ist, die Anforderungen für die festgelegte Anwendung oder den bestimmungsgemäßen Gebrauch zu erfüllen. Die Organisation muss Validierungspläne dokumentieren, die Methoden, Annahmekriterien und, soweit angemessen, statistische Methoden mit Begründung für den Stichprobenumfang enthalten. Eine Entwicklungsvalidierung muss an einem repräsentativen Produkt vorgenommen werden. Ein repräsentatives Produkt schließt die erste Produktionseinheit, die erste Charge oder Gleichwertiges ein. Die Begründung für die Auswahl des für die Validierung verwendeten Produkts muss aufgezeichnet werden(siehe4.2.5). Die Organisation muss als Teil der Entwicklungsvalidierung klinische Bewertungen oder Leistungsbewertungen des Medizinprodukts in Übereinstimmung mit anwendbaren regulatorischen Anforderungen durchführen. Ein Medizinprodukt, das für die klinische Bewertung oder die Leistungsbewertung verwendet wird, wird nicht als zur weiteren Verwendung durch den Kunden freigegeben angesehen. Falls der bestimmungsgemäße Gebrauch erfordert, dass das Medizinprodukt an ein anderes Medizinprodukt/andere Medizinprodukte angeschlossen wird oder eine Schnittstelle mit ihm/ihnen besitzt, muss die Validierung eine Bestätigung umfassen, dass die Anforderungen an die festgelegte Anwendung oder den bestimmungsgemäßen Gebrauch bei Herstellung einer Verbindung oder Benutzung einer Schnittstelle erfüllt wurden. Eine Validierung muss vor der Freigabe des Produkts zur Verwendung durch den Kunden abgeschlossen sein. Es müssen Aufzeichnungen über die Ergebnisse und Schlussfolgerungen der Validierung und notwendige Maßnahmen aufrecht erhalten werden (siehe 4.2.4 und 4.2.5).


Wie sind Sie organisiert?

Sind die Begriffe Verifikation und Validierung in ihrem Unternehmen definiert? Wie ist Ihre Vorgehensweise diesbezüglich? Erfolgt die Verifizierung/Validierung durch ein unabhängiges Team? Ist der Nachweis objektiv? Nicht zu vergessen: Legen Sie die Akzeptanzkriterien vorab fest? Beschreiben Sie die statistischen Methoden mit Begründung für den Stichprobenumfang? Und dann müssen neben der Produktvalidierung u. a. auch Prozesse, Methoden und Software validiert werden.

Falls Sie Fragen haben: Wir liefern Antworten.
Kontaktanfrage

Unser Beitrag zur Validierung Ihrer Produkte:
Sicherheit und Funktionsfähigkeit garantiert

  • Validierung von IVD-Produkten inkl. Software: Erstellung eines Plans, Betreuung bei der Durchführung (klinische Studien, Gebrauchstauglichkeit), Erstellung eines Reports;
  • Prozessvalidierung;
  • Transport- und Reinigungsvalidierung.

Unser QM-Team trägt gerne seinen Teil dazu bei, dass alle Prozesse Ihrer Produktion allen QM-Anforderungen gerecht werden.
Kontaktanfrage

Wissenschaftliche Validität, analytische Leistung und klinische Leistung


Die IVDR verpflichtet Sie, als Teile Ihrer Performance Evaluation (Leistungsbewertung) folgende Zusammenhänge und Fähigkeiten Ihres Produkts nachzuweisen. Die Ergebnisse fließen dann gemeinsam in den Performance Evaluation Report (PER) ein:

1. Wissenschaftliche Validität
Die wissenschaftliche Validität beschreibt den Zusammenhang eines Analyten mit einem bestimmten klinischen oder physiologischen Zustand. In der Regel ist der Zusammenhang bereits wissenschaftlich belegt, aber dies gilt es zu dokumentieren.

2. Analytische Leistung
Die analytische Leistung eines Produkts beschreibt dessen Fähigkeit, einen bestimmten Analyten korrekt nachzuweisen oder zu messen.



3. Klinische Leistung
Die klinische Leistung beschreibt dessen Fähigkeit, Ergebnisse zu liefern, welche mit einem bestimmten klinischen Zustand oder physiologischen/pathologischen Vorgang/Zustand bei einer bestimmten Zielbevölkerung und bestimmten vorgesehenen Anwendern korrelieren.

Zählen Ihre Testungen zur analytischen Leistung zur Verifikation und die Testungen zur klinischen Leistung zur Validierung? Oder ist bei Ihnen die Validierung eine klinische Studie, eventuell in Kombination mit einer Gebrauchstauglichkeitsprüfung?

Wir sind gespannt darauf, Näheres zu erfahren.


Woran sind Sie jetzt interessiert?

Fit für die Zukunft mit der Metecon-Akademie

Jeder unserer Workshops vermittelt nachhaltig Wissen und Know-how in den Bereichen Technische Dokumentation, Regulatory Affairs und QM und ist immer passgenau auf Ihre Bedürfnisse abgestimmt.

Unsere Kunden nutzen unsere Workshops mit unseren Experten:
  • um sich und ihr Team auf den neuesten Wissensstand zu bringen und/oder
  • um sich angesichts einer aktuellen Herausforderung im intensiven Austausch mit uns über die konkrete Zielbeschreibung und Projektstrategie Klarheit zu verschaffen.
Durch den Betrieb unserer eigenen Trainee-Akademie verfügen wir aktuell über ca. 1.500 stets aktuelle PPT-Schulungsfolien zu allen regulatorischen Themen. Das kommt Ihnen zugute: Lassen Sie keine wertvolle Zeit verrinnen! Wir identifizieren sofort Ihren passenden Spezialisten, sind immer vorbereitet und setzen Ihren Workshop um, wenn er gebraucht wird: jetzt.

Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam herausfinden, was Ihr Team braucht!




Workshop-Themen

  • Umsetzung MDR bzw. IVDR für Technische Dokumentation (Bestandsprodukte) und QM
  • Risikomanagement
  • Usability
  • Biologische Sicherheit
  • Clinical Affairs
  • Software
  • Qualitätsmanagement

Ihre Nachricht an uns